Anytime someone in New York State is involved in a motor vehicle crash, they are entitled to no-fault benefits. This means, no matter who is at fault for the crash, hence the word “no-fault,” the injured person can immediately receive $50,000 of medical benefits and lost wages (capped at $2,000 per month for wages).
The benefits are provided by the vehicle the injured person is traveling in, or if you are a pedestrian, then the car that struck you. Don’t be fooled by an insurance company that calls you and offers to pay for your medical benefits in exchange for a release. Paying for an injured person’s medical bills is something they are required to do under New York law.
Keep in mind, you are required to file an application for no-fault benefits within 30 days of the incident. Always send the application certified mail as to prevent the insurance company from claiming they did not receive it.
The best thing to do after a car crash is to contact an attorney to make sure all of your rights are protected.