车祸场景。谁的错?

如果你在纽约的车祸中受伤,并希望对对方提起人身伤害诉讼,你必须证明他或她的疏忽行为造成的事故。虽然大多数人参与车祸将试图争辩说,对方承担更多的责任比他们做的,每辆车的损害往往不言自明。

通过损害位置来确定过错只是调查人员在事故现场考虑的因素之一。他或她还密切评估以下因素:

  • 该车是否有防抱死制动系统,是否按预期操作。
  • 每辆汽车的防撞性能。
  • 使用或大灯或远光灯是否在车祸中起了作用?
  • 各个方向盘的角度--两车在碰撞前是否经历过突然加速
  • 每辆车的撞击点

确定在车祸中的过错是具有挑战性的,但你不必独自去做。在Raphaelson & Levine,经验丰富的人身伤害律师与行业专家和事故重建专家合作,帮助向陪审团证明对方的疏忽造成了车祸和你随后的伤害。如果你已经参与了一次事故,并有关于你的法律权利和选择的问题,我们邀请你今天联系我们的公司进行免费咨询。  

下面介绍几种常见的车祸类型,以及调查人员寻找帮助判断故障的内容。

场景。后端碰撞故障

在纽约,一般来说,追尾碰撞是指车辆在后方撞击另一辆车的过错。这种类型的碰撞发生在两辆车沿同一方向直线行驶时,位于另一辆车后面的车撞到后面的领先车辆。

纽约法律规定,在大多数情况下,后方位置的司机要对造成事故负责。这是因为他或她没有在第一时间留下足够的停车距离来避免车祸。根据安全停车距离规则,后车必须在自己的车辆和前车之间留出足够的空间,在不撞到对方车辆的情况下安全停车。这也适用于紧急情况和恶劣天气。

自动将责任归咎于后方司机的规则有一个例外,那就是当领头司机紧紧地从前方切入,使后方司机不能及时停车避免碰撞。领头司机也可能因为不小心将车辆倒车,而撞到后方位置司机的车辆。车辆发生事故后,追尾事故律师会和事故调查人员一起研究追尾碰撞后各车辆的损伤情况,以判断事故是如何发生的,以及在车祸追尾中谁有过错。

场景倒车时发生车祸的过错(停车场场景)。

关于发生在停车场、车道或其他场景中司机倒车并撞击另一辆车的事故的好消息是,通常情况下,这些类型的事故发生在非常低的速度下,可能不太可能造成严重的伤害。然而,即使在没有明显的车辆损坏的情况下,乘员仍然可能遭受永久性和削弱性的伤害 - 例如最近的50万美元的后端事故和解,涉及的车辆没有损坏。

不幸的是,确定谁是在车祸时倒车的过错并不总是那么简单。这是因为汽车可以在任何方向上行驶,使其很难确定谁有合法的路权.典型的停车场的办公楼或购物中心包含多个车道,车辆停在每一侧。此外,车辆驾驶员通过停车场的周边和通车道进入停车道。典型的规则是,驶入直通车道的司机拥有通行权,通过停车道驶入直通车道的司机必须让行。

举个例子,假设一名司机在试图离开停车场时,将车开出进入一条直通车道。在这样做的时候,他或她撞上了另一辆在直通车道上行驶的车辆。保险公司很可能会将造成事故的过错归咎于这位司机。这个规则的一个例外是,当直通车道的司机没有听从允许离开停车场的车辆拥有通行权的停车或让行标志。

另一种常见的倒车事故是,当两辆车在同一车道的对向停车点倒车时,两辆车相撞。在这种情况下,确定过错是很有难度的,因为两位司机都有义务在倒车前确定自己的车辆是安全的。

如果其中一名司机已经开始倒车,附近的司机应谨慎行事,等其离开停车位后再将车倒车。如果第二位司机没有仔细观察对方车辆的倒车情况,将对事故的发生负有责任。

场景。车祸中的过失 变道/侧滑

考虑车祸变道谁有过错的事故类型,通常指的是一辆车撞击另一辆车的驾驶室或副驾驶室车门的侧面撞击事故。T型骨撞击是指一辆车直接撞击另一辆车的侧面,而侧撞则是指一辆车以一定角度撞击另一辆车,是最常见的事故类型,当一名驾驶员试图变更车道时,就会发生这样的事故。

决定谁是造成T骨或侧翻事故的过错,取决于造成事故的因素。例如,是否有一名司机闯红灯或标志,并撞上另一辆车?如果是这样,他或她显然是在事故的过错,以及其他司机所遭受的任何伤害。也有可能发生的情况是,一名司机在试图转弯或改变车道的另一名司机面前切入。在前面插队的司机是有过错的,即使他或她可能试图声称其他司机没有让路。

刹车故障或其他设备缺陷是另一种可能的原因,在十字路口的侧撞碰撞。在这种情况下,车辆的制造商或最后的机械师可能会分担造成事故的责任--例如最近我们的客户因制造商的缺陷造成的车祸而瘫痪,获得了数百万美元的赔偿。

判断故障的其他因素

当车祸涉及两辆以上的车辆时,确定是一个人的过错还是几个人共同承担的责任是特别有挑战性的。例如,三辆车可能会发生追尾碰撞,后车将中间的车推到前车。然而,领头车的司机也可能分担一些责任,这取决于他或她在撞车前的行为。

除了勘察车祸现场的损失,调查人员还将研究警方的报告,在车祸现场的任何证据,并采访证人,以获得导致事故的事件链的最佳想法。这适用于所有类型的碰撞,而不仅仅是涉及两辆车以上的碰撞.然而,另一种常见的车祸情况是,当两辆车都没有显示出碰撞的证据,但其中一个司机的行为导致了它。

这就是法律专家所说的无接触车祸。一个常见的无接触车祸的例子是,一个司机转弯进入另一个司机的车道。转弯的司机没有显示出车辆损坏,但仍然造成了其他车辆的损坏和司机的伤害,因为他或她的行为迫使其他车辆离开道路。这种类型的事故在没有其他人目击的情况下,特别难以证明。

通过损害的位置来确定过失。如何判断谁的过错

事故调查员在车祸现场研究的第一件事就是每辆车所受到的损害。原因是它可以提供强有力的线索,说明在车祸之前和车祸期间实际发生了什么.例如,一辆车的尾部和另一辆车的前端的损坏清楚地表明了一个后端碰撞。

车辆副驾驶一侧的任何部分受损,通常也说明其他司机有过错。导致车祸的司机很可能没有停下来等待交通控制装置,或者在没有确保其身后区域安全的情况下倒退出停车位或车道。

为了证明在车祸中的过错,我们公司与事故重建专家一起工作,他们接受过培训,具有专业知识,可以考虑动力学、工程和物理学等方面的问题。此外,事故重建专家可以创建每个车辆的比例模型,获得任何碎片留在现场的测量,甚至完全重新创建的事故。最后,我们的事故重建专家除了考虑上述因素外,还会考虑这些因素。

  • 现场留下的轮胎痕迹
  • 任何一位驾驶员使用巡航控制
  • 事故发生时的路面情况
  • 溢出的燃料或其他道路碎片
  • 每位司机是否恰当地使用了转向灯,以及在车祸发生时转向灯是否可以使用。
  • 两车的刹车灯是否正常工作。

与有经验的汽车事故律师讨论您的索赔要求。

Raphaelson & Levine律师事务所技术娴熟的车祸律师已经帮助了数以千计的其他纽约人解决了你的问题。如果您在一次车祸中受伤,我们邀请您拨打212-268-3222联系我们的曼哈顿律师事务所,讨论您的法律选择。在您的咨询过程中,我们将了解更多关于您的车祸和随后造成的伤害,以及帮助您了解提起人身伤害诉讼的过程,向您介绍我们的资质,并回答您可能有的任何其他问题。

Howard Raphaelson
Howard A. Raphaelson在1992年从Benjamin N. Cardozo法学院毕业后,创立了Raphaelson & Levine Law Firm, P.C.。他的人身伤害律师事务所成立于纽约州的纽约市,他的律师事务所已经获得了许多百万美元的判决。凭借超过25年的人身伤害律师经验,他赢得了同行、法官和高层领导的信赖,包括被评为"超级律师"(汤森路透)和"纽约最佳律师"(纽约杂志)的前5%伤害律师。
查看律师资料

HomeCar Accident Scenarios: Who’s Fault?

Car Accident Scenarios: Who’s Fault?

If you have sustained injuries in a car accident in New York and wish to file a personal injury lawsuit against the other party, you must prove that his or her negligent actions caused the accident. While most people involved in a car accident will attempt to argue that the other party bears more responsibility than they do, damage to each of the vehicles often speaks for itself.

Determining fault by the location of damage is just one factor that an investigator considers at an accident scene. He or she also closely evaluate the following:

· Whether the car had an anti-lock braking system and if it operated as expected

· Crash-worthiness of each of the vehicles

· Whether the use or headlights or high beams played a role in the crash

· Angle of each steering wheel

· Whether either car experienced sudden acceleration just before the crash

· The impact point of each vehicle

Determining fault in a car accident is challenging, but you don’t have to do it alone. The experienced personal injury attorneys at Raphaelson & Levine work with industry experts and accident reconstruction specialists to help prove to a jury that the negligence of the other party caused the accident and your subsequent injuries. If you’ve been involved in an accident and have questions about your legal rights and options, we invite you to contact our firm today for a free consultation.  Below are descriptions of several types of common car accidents as well as what investigators look for to help determine fault.

Scenario: Rear End Collision Fault

In New York, generally, a rear-ending collision is the fault of the vehicle that strikes another vehicle in the rear. This type of crash happens when two vehicles are traveling in a straight line in the same direction and the car located behind the other, strikes the leading vehicle in the back.

New York law holds the driver in the rear position liable for causing the accident in most situations. This is because he or she did not leave an adequate stopping distance to avoid a crash in the first place. According to the safe stopping distance rule, the car in back must allow enough space between his or her vehicle and the vehicle in front to stop safely without striking the other car. This applies in emergency situations and inclement weather as well.

One exception to the rule of automatically assigning blame to the rear driver is when the lead driver cuts in front of him or her so closely that the rear driver can’t stop in time to avoid a collision. The lead driver could also strike the vehicle of the driver in the rear position by accidentally shifting the vehicle into reverse. After a vehicle crash, a rear-end accident attorney will work with accident investigator to study the damage on each vehicle after a rear-end collision to gauge how the accident occurred and who is at fault in a car accident rear-ending.

Scenario: Fault in a Car Accident When Backing Up (Parking Lot Scenario)

The good news about accidents that occur in a parking lot, driveway, or other scenarios where a driver is backing up and strikes another car is that often times these types of accidents occur at very low speeds which may be less likely to cause serious injury. However, even in circumstances with no apparent vehicle damage, occupants can still suffer permanent and debilitating injuries – such as a recent $500K Rear-End Accident Settlement involving a vehicle with no damage.

Unfortunately, determining who is at fault in a car accident when backing up isn’t always so straightforward. That is because a car can be traveling from any direction, making it difficult to determine who had the legal right of way.

The typical parking lot for an office building or shopping center contains multiple lanes with vehicles parked on every side. Additionally, vehicle drivers enter parking lanes through the lot’s perimeter and through lanes. The typical rule is that a driver approaching a through lane has the right of way and drivers approaching the through lane via a parking lane must yield.

As an example, assume that one driver pulls out to enter a through lane while attempting to leave the parking lot. In doing so, he or she strikes another vehicle traveling in the through lane. Insurance companies would likely assign fault to this driver for causing the accident. One exception to this rule is when the through lane driver fails to heed a stop or yield sign that allows vehicles exiting the parking lot to have the right of way.

Another common type of backing up accident is when two vehicles collide as the drivers are backing out of parking spots on the opposite sides of the same lane of parking. It is challenging to determine fault in this case because both drivers have the obligation to determine that it’s safe to back up their vehicle before doing so.

If one driver has already started backing up, nearby drivers should exercise caution by waiting until he or she is out of the parking spot before putting the car into reverse. The second driver would be at fault for causing the accident if he or she failed to carefully observe the other car backing up

Scenario: Fault In A Car Accident Changing Lanes/ Side Swipe

The types of accidents that consider who is at fault in a car accident changing lanes usually refer to side impact accidents where one vehicle strikes the driver or passenger side doors of another vehicle. The T-Bone crash, which occurs when one vehicle strikes the side of another directly, and the sideswipe crash, when one vehicle strikes another at an angle, are the most common types of accidents that occur when one driver is attempting to make a lane change.

Deciding who is at fault for causing a T-Bone or sideswipe accident depends on the factors that caused the accident. For example, did one driver run a stop light or sign and smash into another vehicle? If so, he or she would clearly be at fault for the accident as well as any injuries suffered by the other driver. It could also happen that one driver cuts in front of another who was attempting to make a turn or change lanes. The driver who cut in front would be the one at fault, even though he or she might attempt to claim that the other driver didn’t yield the right of way.

Faulty brakes or other equipment defect is another possible cause of side-impact collisions at an intersection. In this scenario, the manufacturer of the vehicle or the last mechanic to work on it could share the blame for causing the accident – such as a recent multi-million dollar settlement awarded to our client who was paralyzed due to a car accident caused by a manufacturer’s defect.

Other Factors in Determining Fault

When a car accident involves more than two vehicles, determining whether one person is at fault or if several people share blame can be especially challenging. For example, three cars could be involved in a rear-end collision with the back car pushing the middle car into the front car. However, the driver of the lead car could share some responsibility as well depending on his or her behavior immediately preceding the crash.

In addition to surveying the damage at the crash scene, investigators will also study the police report, any evidence at the crash scene and interview witnesses to get the best idea of the chain of events leading up to the accident. This goes for all types of crashes, not just ones involving more than two vehicles.

Yet another common car accident scenario is when neither car shows evidence of a crash yet the behavior of one of the drivers caused it. This is what legal experts call a no-contact car accident. A common example of a no-contact car accident is when one driver swerves into the lane of another. The driver who swerved shows no vehicle damage but still caused damage to the other vehicle and injuries to the driver because his or her actions forced the other car off the road. These types of accidents can be especially difficult to prove when no one else witnessed them.

Determining Fault by the Location of Damage: How to Tell Who’s at Fault

One of the first things an accident investigator studies at the scene of the crash is the damage that each vehicle sustained. The reason for this is that it can provide strong clues as to what actually took place immediately before and during the crash.

For example, damage to the rear end of one car and the front end of another clearly shows a rear end collision. Damage to any portion of the passenger side of a vehicle usually indicates a fault by the other driver as well. The driver causing the crash likely failed to stop for a traffic control device or backed out of a parking spot or driveway without making sure the area directly behind them was clear.

To prove fault in a car accident, our firm works with accident reconstruction experts with training and expertise to consider such things as dynamics, engineering, and physics. Additionally, the accident reconstruction specialist can create scale models of each vehicle, obtain measurements of any debris left at the scene, and even re-create the accident entirely. Finally, our accident reconstruction specialists consider these factors in addition to the ones listed above:

· Tire marks left at the scene

· Use of cruise control by either driver

· Surface of the road at the time of the accident

· Spilled fuel or other road debris

· Whether each driver used turn signals appropriately as well as if they were operational at the time of the crash

· Whether the brake lights on either vehicle were working properly

Discuss Your Claim With An Experienced Auto Accident Attorney

The skilled car crash attorneys at Raphaelson Levine has helped thousands of other New Yorkers in your situation. We invite you to contact our Manhattan law office at 212-268-3222 to request a free consultation. During your consultation, we will learn more about your car accident and the subsequent injuries that it caused and as well as help you understand the process of filing a personal injury lawsuit, present you with our qualifications, and answer any other questions that you may have.

Share
Tweet
Pin
+1
Share