长岛人身伤害律师

大多数人谁维持严重的伤害,由于疏忽方的行动,不认为关于提出人身伤害诉讼的权利。他们太忙于处理疼痛,参加医生的约会和物理治疗,并试图保持在他们的财务状况,甚至意识到它可能有利于他们聘请一个人身伤害律师。随着时间的推移,他们继续处理他们的严重伤害的后果,如未支付的医疗费用,身体上的痛苦,情感上的痛苦,并无法全职工作,他们来了解多少长岛人身伤害律师可以帮助他们。

尽快与我们的长岛人身伤害律师见面。

Raphaelson & Levine是一家位于长岛附近的原告律师事务所,30多年来一直代表事故受害者的利益。我们邀请您成为我们的人身伤害客户,请联系我们的律师事务所,今天就拨打212-268-3222请求免费咨询

你必须在事故发生之日起三年内提起人身伤害诉讼,否则你将丧失起诉的权利。有些情况下,如提起过失致死诉讼或对纽约市或其他地方政府提出索赔,为严重受伤的人提供较少的时间来启动人身伤害案件。

"保险公司提出一个低价的报价,希望你能接受并不战而退,这并不能吓倒我们。我们的事故律师也有几十年的法庭经验,如果过失方的法律代表未能按照我们的标准进行谈判。"- 霍华德-拉斐尔森,拉斐尔森&莱文律师事务所人身伤害律师

虽然我们力争尽可能在庭外达成公平的和解,但您可以放心,我们将在纽约的法庭上代表您,挑战过失方法律代表的每一个辩护和错误的假设。

在长岛人身伤害律师的帮助下,您可以获得的赔偿类型。

这是常见的人考虑人身伤害诉讼,问他们可能会收到多少钱从保险公司代表对方。虽然这是不可能给一个确切的数字了,我们可以告诉你,拉斐尔森和莱文律师事务所的声誉,以确保代表事故受害者数百万美元的和解。保险公司或法院可能会给你提供的几个因素,包括你的伤害的严重程度,以及你是否以任何方式对事故作出贡献。

如果你的行为确实导致了事故的发生,你应该知道纽约遵循的是过失责任法。这意味着法官或保险公司代表可以降低你的和解报价的金额,你的过错百分比。因为分配给你的百分比可以是高度主观的,取决于谁解释导致事故的事件,这是至关重要的,至少我们的长岛人身伤害律师之一,以反对任何共同的责任,你的部分。

在Raphaelson & Levine,我们明白每个人都是带着独特的人身伤害案件来找我们的。人身伤害是我们最受欢迎的实践领域之一,多年来,我们已经看到事故受害者获得类似类别的赔偿。这些包括:

  • 医疗费用的支付。这个赔偿类别包括你已经发生的费用,以及你合理预期未来会发生的费用,由于你的车祸或其他类型的人身伤害。由于未来的费用可能是具有挑战性的确定,我们聘请具有多年经验的医疗专家尽可能经常作证。
  • 损失的工资。这包括你已经错过的工作和预期在未来错过的工资支票的实际金额。此外,如果你的严重伤害使你无法重返全职工作岗位,迫使你从事挑战性较小的工作而获得较少的报酬,或因无法再工作而接受医疗退休,你的人身伤害律师将为你争取更高的赔偿。
  • 财产损失。在车祸中,这可能包括车辆本身以及车内的贵重物品,如工作用的笔记本电脑。其他类型的人身伤害案件也可能有资格获得财产损失赔偿,这取决于具体情况。
  • 疼痛和痛苦。一些事故受害者永远无法恢复到他们在过失方造成事故之前所享受的生活质量。这可能意味着处理身体和情感的痛苦和折磨的一生,你的人身伤害律师将认为至少应该让你有权获得公平的赔偿。
  • 惩罚性赔偿。当过失方的行为轻率到对你的安全不闻不问的地步时 法官可以在你的和解协议中附加惩罚性赔偿。其目的是惩罚犯错者,并向其他人发出明确的信息,即纽约法律将追究他们对其鲁莽行为的责任。

人身伤害索赔的常见类型

也许你会想知道什么才算得上是人身伤害索赔。一般来说,如果过失方给你造成了某种类型的身体伤害,你可以进行诉讼。虽然人身伤害可以发生在各种方式,包括故意的行动,以下代表了人们提出人身伤害诉讼的最常见原因。

车祸

纽约是12个执行无过错法律的州之一,当涉及到在车祸中遭受的严重伤害时。这意味着你自己的保险公司有责任支付你的医疗费和财产损失,最高金额在你的政策规定。然而,你仍然可以提出人身伤害诉讼,如果你失去了一个身体部位的使用,有另一个重大的后果,或你的费用超过了你的保险公司将支付从机动车事故。

建筑事故

纽约认真对待建筑安全,颁布了几项针对该行业的法律。不幸的是,建筑业仍然是一个危险的职业,可能会导致严重的伤害或错误的死亡。您可以对任何造成建筑事故的责任方提起人身伤害诉讼,而不是您的雇主,因为这属于国家工人赔偿制度的范畴。

狗咬人

纽约的狗主人有法律义务防止他们的狗咬伤他人,特别是那些被认为是危险品种或过去曾咬人的狗。

摔倒事故

绊倒的对象,本不应该在那里摆在首位的是一种类型的下降事故。如果有东西从上面砸到你,或者你在冰上滑倒,你也可能经历一次坠落事故。

医疗事故

由于举证责任完全在于提出人身伤害索赔的人,因此医疗事故的举证具有挑战性。你必须证明医疗服务提供者的行为与他或她的培训和经验不一致,以至于你得到了疏忽的照顾。

摩托车事故

一些汽车和卡车司机在路上仍然看不到摩托车,也没有像其他类型的车辆一样考虑到摩托车。这可能导致严重的伤害,如截瘫、四肢瘫痪、烧伤、骨折和脑外伤

房地责任

纽约法律规定,商业和住宅物业业主有责任保证其公司或住宅周围环境对访客的安全。如果您在他人的财产上受到伤害,您可能会有一个场所责任索赔,即使业主不知道潜在的危险,但根据谨慎的非专业人员理论,应该知道。

卡车事故

这类人身伤害通常指的是商用18轮车。卡车事故可能会造成重大的伤害或死亡,由于车辆的大小与客运卡车,汽车或摩托车相比。虽然商业司机必须遵循几十条法律,如强制休息时间和负载大小,一些人无视这些法律,而另一些人则感到来自雇主的压力,无论如何都要开车。关于卡车事故的另一个因素是,几方可以共同承担造成事故的责任。你的长岛事故律师将彻底研究并向每个过失方提出你的人身伤害诉讼。

过失致死

根据纽约的法律,您有两年的时间从亲人死亡之日起,指定个人代表提起过失致死的诉讼。如果我们的人身伤害律师事务所赢得了您的案件,您可以获得您所爱的人的医疗费以及葬礼和安葬费的付款,对您所爱的人对家庭所做贡献的服务的补偿,他或她的工资,以及更多。

在诉讼时效到期前,请联系我们进行免费咨询。

无论你有哪种类型的人身伤害索赔,你都必须在三年内提起人身伤害诉讼,在某些情况下,甚至更短的时间内,才能在纽约的诉讼时效范围内。Raphaelson & Levine律师事务所邀请您申请免费咨询,并维护您对医疗费用、工资损失以及其他经济和个人损失的诉讼权利。我们自豪地服务于萨福克县、拿骚县和长岛附近的其他几个社区。您可以填写在线申请表格或拨打我们的电话212-268-3222来安排您的初次咨询。

屡获殊荣的律师事务所

Located near Penn Station in New York, NY, our law firm serves Nassau County, Rockland County, Suffolk County, Westchester and all of New York State, including the five boroughs of NYC: Bronx, Brooklyn, Queens, Manhattan, and Staten Island.
查看所有奖项
申请免费律师咨询
被医疗费、工资损失、疼痛和痛苦所压倒?不要与保险公司达成和解,因为这比你应得的更少,我们可以帮助你。
除非我们赢了,否则不收任何费用
7亿美元的判决和和解金
60分钟内得到回复

Long Island Personal Injury Lawyer

Most people who sustain serious injuries due to the actions of a negligent party don’t think about filing a personal injury lawsuit right away. They are too busy dealing with pain, attending doctor’s appointments and physical therapy, and trying to stay on top of their finances to even realize how much it could benefit them to hire a personal injury attorney. As time goes on and they continue to deal with the consequences of their serious injuries such as unpaid medical bills, physical pain, emotional suffering, and the inability to work full-time, they come to understand how much Long Island personal injury attorneys could help them.

Meet With Our Long Island Personal Injury Lawyers as Soon as Possible

Raphaelson & Levine, a plaintiff’s law firm located near Long Island, has represented the interests of accident victims for over 30 years. We invite you to become a personal injury client by contacting our law offices to request a free consultation today at 212-268-3222.

You must initiate your personal injury lawsuit within three years of the date of the accident or you forfeit your right to sue. Some situations, such as filing a wrongful death lawsuit or bringing a claim against New York City or another local government, offer people with serious injuries less time to initiate a personal injury case.

“Insurance companies that make a lowball offer hoping you will accept it and go away without a fight don’t intimidate us. Our accident lawyers also have decades of courtroom experience should the legal representation for the negligent party fail to negotiate to our standards.” — Howard Raphaelson, Personal Injury Lawyer, Raphaelson & Levine

While we strive to arrive at a fair settlement outside of court whenever possible, you can feel confident that we will represent you well in a New York courtroom by challenging every defense and false assumption made by the legal representation for the negligent party.

Types of Compensation You Could Recover With Help From Your Long Island Personal Injury Attorney

It’s common for people considering a personal injury lawsuit to ask how much money they might receive from the insurance company representing the other party. While it’s impossible to give an exact figure upfront, we can tell you that the law firm of Raphaelson & Levine has a reputation for securing multi-million dollar settlements on behalf of accident victims. Several factors play into what an insurance company or court might offer you, including the severity of your injuries and whether you contributed to the accident in any way.

If your actions did contribute to the accident, you should know that New York follows contributory negligence laws. That means a judge or insurance company representative can lower the amount of your settlement offer by your percentage of fault. Because the percentage assigned to you can be highly subjective depending on who interprets the events leading up to the accident, it’s critical for at least one of our Long Island personal injury attorneys to be present to argue against any shared blame on your part.

At Raphaelson & Levine, we understand that everyone comes to us with a unique personal injury case. With personal injury one of our most popular practice areas, we have seen accident victims receive similar categories of compensation over the years. These include:

  • Payment of medical bills: This compensation category includes expenses you have already incurred and those you reasonably expect to incur in the future due to your car accident or other types of personal injury. Since future costs can be challenging to determine, we hire medical experts with years of experience to testify as often as possible.
  • Lost wages: This includes the actual amounts of paychecks you have missed from work and expect to miss in the future. Additionally, your personal injury attorney will argue for higher compensation if your serious injuries prevent you from returning to work full-time, force you to work a less challenging position for less pay or accept medical retirement because you can no longer work at all.
  • Property damage: In a car accident, this could include the vehicle itself as well as valuable items inside of it like a laptop computer for work. Other types of personal injury cases may also be eligible to receive property damage compensation depending on the circumstances.
  • Pain and suffering: Some accident victims never return to the quality of life they enjoyed before the negligent party caused the accident. This potentially means dealing with physical and emotional pain and suffering for a lifetime, which your personal injury attorney will argue should at least entitle you to fair compensation.
  • Punitive damages: When the actions of the negligent party are reckless to the point that he or she showed little regard for your safety, a judge may attach punitive damages to your total settlement offer. The purpose is to punish the wrongdoer and send a clear message to others that New York law will hold them accountable for their reckless actions.

Common Types of Personal Injury Claims

Perhaps you wonder what qualifies as a personal injury claim. Generally, you may proceed with a lawsuit if the negligent party caused you some type of bodily injury. While a personal injury can happen in a variety of ways, including intentional actions, the following represent the most common reasons people file a personal injury lawsuit:

Car Accident

New York is one of 12 states that enforce no-fault laws when it comes to serious injuries sustained in a car accident. That means your own insurance company bears responsibility for paying your medical bills and property damage up to the amount specified in your policy. However, you can still file a personal injury lawsuit if you lost the use of a body part, had another significant consequence, or your expenses surpass what your insurance company will pay from the motor vehicle accident.

Construction Accidents

New York takes construction safety seriously by enacting several laws specific to the industry. Unfortunately, construction is still a dangerous occupation that can cause serious injuries or wrongful death. You may initiate a personal injury lawsuit against any party responsible for causing construction accidents other than your employer since that falls under the state Workers’ Compensation system.

Dog Bite

Dog owners in New York have the legal obligation to prevent their dog from biting and injuring others, especially those considered a dangerous breed or that have bitten in the past.

Fall Accident

Tripping over an object that should never have been there in the first place is one type of fall accident. You could also experience a fall accident if something strikes you from above or you slip on ice.

Medical Malpractice

Because the burden of proof lies entirely with the person making a personal injury claim, medical malpractice can be challenging to prove. You must demonstrate that the provider acted in a manner inconsistent with his or her training and experience to the point that you received negligent care.

Motorcycle Accident

Some car and truck drivers still don’t see motorcycles on the road or give them the same consideration as other types of vehicles. This can result in serious injuries such as paraplegia, quadriplegia, burns, broken bones, and traumatic brain injury.

Premises Liability

New York law holds commercial and residential property owners responsible for keeping the surroundings at their business or home safe for visitors. You may have a premises liability claim if you sustained an injury on someone else’s property, even if the owner didn’t know about the potential danger but should have according to the prudent layperson theory.

Truck Accidents

This category of personal injury typically refers to commercial 18-wheel vehicles. Truck accidents can cause significant injury or death due to the size of the vehicle compared to a passenger truck, car, or motorcycle. Although commercial drivers must follow dozens of laws such as mandatory rest breaks and load sizes, some disregard them while others feel pressure from their employer to drive anyway. Another factor about truck accidents is that several parties can share responsibility for causing them. Your Long Island accident attorney will research thoroughly and present each negligent party with your personal injury lawsuit.

Wrongful Death

Under New York law, you have two years from the date of death of a loved one to appoint a personal representative to file a wrongful death lawsuit. If our personal injury law firm wins your case, you could receive payment for the medical bills of your loved one along with funeral and burial expenses, compensation for services your loved one contributed to the household, his or her wages, and more.

Contact us For a Free Consultation Before the Statute of Limitations Expires

Regardless of the type of personal injury claim you have, you must file a personal injury lawsuit within three years and even less in some cases to stay within the statute of limitations in New York. Raphaelson & Levine invites you to request your free consultation and preserve your right to sue for the expenses of medical treatment, lost wages, and other financial and personal losses. We proudly serve Suffolk County, Nassau County, and several other communities in the geographic vicinity of Long Island. You may complete an online request form or call our phone number at 212-268-3222 to schedule your initial consultation.

Award-Winning Law Firm

Located near Penn Station, our law firm serves Nassau County, Rockland County, Suffolk County, Westchester and all other cities and counties in New York, including the five boroughs of New York City: Bronx, Brooklyn, Queens, Manhattan, and Staten Island.
View all our Awards
Request a Free Lawyer Consultation
Overwhelmed with medical expenses, lost wages, pain, & suffering? Don't settle with an insurance company for less than you deserve, we can help.
No fee unless
 we win
$700M in verdicts & settlements
Get a reply in 60 minutes