纽约市医疗事故律师事务所

Raphaelson Levine是一家人身伤害律师事务所,近30年来一直为受到医疗服务提供者伤害的人提供服务。我们的人身伤害律师也接受因医疗错误或疏忽而导致亲人死亡的家庭成员的案件。在积极为客户争取最大赔偿方面,我们享有良好的声誉。由于从亲人受伤或死亡之日起提出索赔的时效很短,我们鼓励您今天就与我们律师事务所的纽约医疗事故律师安排初次咨询。

医疗过失是美国第三大死亡原因,我们的律师事务所帮助家庭恢复健康。

在纽约,医疗过失是一个日益严重的问题。每年,医院、保健专业人员和其他保健提供者花费30多亿美元支付医疗事故索赔,平均每天支付30多起医疗错误索赔。

Raphaelson & Levine律师事务所的医疗事故律师已经帮助数百个纽约家庭在因疏忽的医疗护理而受伤后获得赔偿

我们的律师事务所位于纽约曼哈顿中城,为整个纽约市(包括布朗克斯、布鲁克林、曼哈顿、皇后区和史坦顿岛)遭受医疗过失的患者提供服务。

医疗事故的诉讼时效通常规定患者或其家属从受伤之日起2.5年(30个月)内提出索赔--这个期限比许多其他类型的索赔短得多。

在纽约提出医疗事故索赔需要什么理由?

Raphaelson & Levine律师事务所要求医生和医院对导致永久残疾、严重疾病或死亡的医疗过失负责。我们的律师努力工作,被公认为是揭露医疗事故和让医疗服务提供者付出代价的领导者。不成功的手术或其他不利的结果不一定是医疗事故。

要证明医疗事故索赔的合理性,必须有持久的伤害,而且必须有证据表明医疗专业人员偏离了公认的医疗标准。

具体来说,你必须证明你在纽约的医护人员在以下四个方面让你失望了。

  1. 他或她对你负有照顾的责任。这是最基本的要求,也是在医疗事故诉讼中最容易证明的。护理责任是指,你雇佣了一个医疗从业人员来完成任何类型的医疗程序,而他或她没有尽到法律和道德义务为你提供合格的护理。
  2. 您的供应商违反了护理,没有为您提供您有权期望从具有类似医疗培训和经验的人的护理标准。因为证明违反护理可以是高度主观的,这取决于谁在解释法律,你需要有多年经验的人身伤害律师在你身边,你争取你的权利,继续与诉讼。
  3. 证明医疗机构的违规行为与你后来的伤害或症状恶化之间的关系。
  4. 证明医疗服务提供者的行为与你因此而遭受的医疗后果之间有直接的关联。这是医疗事故案件中常见的辩护策略,代表对方的人身伤害律师声称你在看病之前就已经有了病症,或者你在夸大他或她的行为如何使你的情况变得更糟。

重要的是要明白,在纽约州的医疗事故索赔中,作为一个严重伤害的起诉人,举证责任完全在于你。无论您是脑部受损,您的父母在疗养院被忽视,您的新生儿因出生时被忽视而患上了厄伯氏麻痹症,您的家庭成员已经死亡,您想提出过失致死的索赔,或者您有其他合法的理由寻求法律代表,我们的律师事务所都愿意提供帮助。我们鼓励您尽快采取行动,让您的审判律师有足够的时间在30个月的诉讼时效到期前收集证据和保留专家证人。

医疗事故的例子

未能诊断出癌症

许多类型的癌症在早期发现时对治疗的反应是有利的。不幸的是,你的医生可能会拒绝下令进行你所需要的测试来确认它,或者犯了误诊,这两种情况都会让癌症不受控制地扩散。当涉及到癌症时,医疗事故的受害者收到一份报告也很常见,报告显示没有特别的问题,原因是技术人员进行的核磁共振、CT或其他成像测试出错,或者医生误读了结果。

急诊室的错误

急诊室是繁忙的地方,工作人员往往希望尽快让病人出院或入院。当医生或外科医生没有花时间正确诊断和治疗您目前的问题时,这很容易导致纽约医疗事故。

出生伤害

可预防的出生伤害,导致脑瘫和其他终身医疗条件,可以使一个悲惨的医疗事故案件。然而,我们明白,同情只会让你走得更远。您需要有机会起诉过失方,以获得医疗费用、工资损失和其他与为严重出生伤害的孩子提供持续医疗护理相关的费用。

手术错误

这听起来不可思议,但手术失误,如将器械留在病人体内,在错误的身体部位手术,或完全在错误的病人身上手术,比你想象的更常见。作为纽约医疗事故律师,我们在当地见过无数的手术错误案例。

用药错误

在不知道药物是否与你所服用的其他药物有潜在的相互作用的情况下,医生绝对不应该开具处方,药剂师也不应该填写处方。开处方的医生尤其有责任考虑药物的已知副作用,并将其与您服用药物可能获得的好处进行权衡。作为一个病人,你总是有权利做出一个知情的决定,如果你觉得你没有掌握所有的事实,你需要为自己或亲人做出最好的决定,你可能有一个合法的纽约市医疗事故案件。

护理错误

医生、外科医生和诊断设备技术人员并不是唯一一个由于缺乏专业技能和判断力而造成严重伤害的人。你有同样多的权利对护士提起医疗事故诉讼,就像你对任何其他类型的医疗保健专业人员一样。

在纽约提起医疗事故案件的30个月诉讼时效的例外情况。

在大多数情况下,你有两年半的时间,从你受伤或亲人因医疗事故造成的非正常死亡之日起,寻求法律咨询并提起诉讼。纽约法律确实允许以下例外情况。

  • 发现异物留在体内。你有12个月的时间 从你发现这个严重的错误之日起 在纽约提出医疗过失索赔请注意,12个月的时间是从您第一次发现错误的日期开始,而不是手术本身的日期。
  • 纽约关于未成年儿童的诉讼时效。当医疗事故的受害者未满18岁时,诉讼时效从18岁生日前开始。但是,无论孩子的年龄大小,病人和父母都不能在医疗事故发生后10年以上提起人身伤害诉讼。例如,如果错误或疏忽发生在孩子5岁的时候,他或她的父母就需要在孩子15岁之前提起纽约市医疗事故诉讼。

提出医疗事故索赔以获得最大赔偿

我们的医疗事故律师已经为那些因医疗专业人员的疏忽而改变生活的个人挽回了无数百万美元的判决和和解

最近我们的客户赢得的医疗事故诉讼案例包括:

代表一名年轻的助教获得了220万美元的赔偿,该助教因多次未能诊断出其严重头痛的原因而在一个月内三次到急诊室就诊,但她却在法律上失明。我们证明,及时的转诊、诊断和治疗可以避免对她的视力造成不可逆转的损害。

一名45岁的妇女因其妇产科医生没有告知她在超声检查中发现的可疑肿块而导致其乳腺癌6个月未得到治疗,该妇女获得了75万美元的赔偿。她因延误诊断而导致并发症的赔偿。

今天就与医疗事故律师讨论您的索赔。

我们以在大案中取得成果而闻名,我们以在整个过程中关注客户的需求而闻名。请致电212-268-3222或在线联系我们,与Raphaelson & Levine律师事务所的顶级纽约市医疗事故律师进行免费咨询。

如果您在我们为您提供免费的案件评估后决定建立律师-当事人关系,我们将向您解释在您的医疗事故或过失致死案件中寻求正义的下一步。虽然我们的目标始终是与保险公司达成公平的和解,但如果有必要,我们也完全准备好在法庭审判中代表您的利益。

屡获殊荣的律师事务所

Located near Penn Station in New York, NY, our law firm serves Nassau County, Rockland County, Suffolk County, Westchester and all of New York State, including the five boroughs of NYC: Bronx, Brooklyn, Queens, Manhattan, and Staten Island.
查看所有奖项
申请免费律师咨询
被医疗费、工资损失、疼痛和痛苦所压倒?不要与保险公司达成和解,因为这比你应得的更少,我们可以帮助你。
除非我们赢了,否则不收任何费用
7亿美元的判决和和解金
60分钟内得到回复

New York City Medical Malpractice Lawyers

Raphaelson Levine is a personal injury law office that has served the needs of people harmed by their healthcare provider for nearly 30 years. Our personal injury lawyers also accept cases from family members experiencing the wrongful death of a loved one through medical error or neglect. We have a strong reputation when it comes to aggressively pursuing maximum compensation for our clients. With a short statute of limitations from the date of injury or death of a loved one to file a claim, we encourage you to schedule your initial consultation with a New York Medical malpractice attorney from our law firm today.

Medical Negligence is the Third-leading Cause of Death in the U.S., Our Law Firm Helps Families Recover

Medical negligence is a growing concern in New York. Every year hospitals, health professionals, and other care providers spend over $3 billion paying out medical malpractice claims, paying an average of over 30 claims per day for medical errors.

The medical malpractice lawyers at Raphaelson & Levine Law Firm have helped hundreds of New York families recover compensation after injuries that have resulted from negligent medical care.

Located in Midtown-Manhattan, New York, our law firm serves patients that have suffered medical negligence throughout New York City (including the Bronx, Brooklyn, Manhattan, Queens, and Staten Island).

The medical malpractice statute of limitations typically provides patients, or their families, 2.5 years (30 months) from the date of their injury to file a claim – a much shorter period than many other types of claims.

What Does it Take to Justify a Medical Malpractice Claim in New York?

The Raphaelson & Levine Law Firm holds physicians and hospitals accountable for medical negligence resulting in lasting disability, grave illness, or fatality. Our lawyers work hard and are recognized as leaders in uncovering medical malpractice and making those providers pay. An unsuccessful surgery or other adverse outcome is not necessarily malpractice.

To justify a claim of medical malpractice, there must be lasting harm and there must be evidence that the medical professionals deviated from the accepted medical standards.

Specifically, you must prove that your healthcare professional in NYC failed you in the following four ways:

  1. He or she owed you a duty of care. This is the most basic requirement and the easiest to prove when it comes to medical malpractice lawsuits. Duty of care means that you hired a healthcare practitioner to complete any type of medical procedure and he or she failed in the legal and moral obligation to provide you with competent care.
  2. Your provider committed a breach of care by not offering you the standard of care you have the right to expect from someone with similar medical training and experience. Because proving breach of care can be highly subjective depending on who is interpreting the law, you need personal injury attorneys with many years of experience on your side as you fight for your right to proceed with the lawsuit.
  3. Proving a relationship between the medical provider’s breach of care and your subsequent injuries or worsening of symptoms.
  4. Proving a direct correlation between the provider’s actions and the medical consequences you suffered because of them. It’s a common defense strategy in a medical malpractice case for personal injury lawyers representing the other party to claim that you had the condition before you visited the medical provider or that you are exaggerating how his or her actions made your situation worse.

It’s important to understand that the burden of proof lies entirely with you as a person suing for serious injury in a New York State medical malpractice claim. Whether you have sustained brain damage, your parent was neglected in a nursing home, your newborn baby developed Erb’s palsy due to birth neglect, a family member has died and you want to pursue a wrongful death claim, or you have another legitimate reason for seeking legal representation, our law firm wants to help. We encourage you to act as quickly as possible to give your trial lawyers enough time to collect evidence and retain expert witnesses before the 30-month statute of limitations expires.

Examples of Medical Malpractice

Failure to Diagnose Cancer

Many types of cancer respond favorably to treatment when detected early. Unfortunately, your doctor may refuse to order the tests you need to confirm it or be guilty of misdiagnosis, both of which allow cancer to spread unchecked. When it comes to cancer, it’s also common for victims of medical malpractice to receive a report showing no particular problem due to a technician performing the MRI, CT, or other imaging test wrong or a doctor misreading the results.

Emergency Room Errors

Emergency rooms are busy places, and staff often wants to get patients discharged or admitted as quickly as possible. This can easily lead to NY medical malpractice when a doctor or surgeon doesn’t take the time to diagnose and treat your presenting problem correctly.

Birth Injuries

Preventable birth injuries that lead to cerebral palsy and other lifelong medical conditions can make for a tragic medical malpractice case. However, we understand that sympathy will only get you so far. You need the opportunity to sue the negligent party or parties for medical expenses, lost wages, and other costs associated with providing ongoing medical care for your child with a serious birth injury.

Surgical Errors

It can sound unbelievable, but surgical errors such as leaving an instrument inside of a patient’s body, operating on the wrong body part, or operating on the wrong patient altogether are more common than you think. We have seen numerous cases of surgical errors locally as New York medical malpractice lawyers.

Medication Errors

A doctor should never write a prescription, nor should a pharmacist fill one, without knowing if it potentially interacts with other medications you take. It’s especially incumbent upon the prescribing doctor to consider the medication’s known side effects and weigh them against the potential benefits you could gain from taking the medication. You always have the right to make an informed decision as a patient and could have a legitimate NYC medical malpractice case if you feel that you didn’t have all the facts you needed to make the best possible decision for yourself or a loved one.

Nursing Errors

Doctors, surgeons, and diagnostic equipment technicians aren’t the only ones who can cause serious injuries due to a lack of professional skills and judgment. You have just as much right to file a medical malpractice case against a nurse as you do against any other type of healthcare professional.

Exceptions to the 30-month Statute of Limitations for Filing a Medical Malpractice Case in New York

In most cases, you have two and one-half years from the date of your injury or the wrongful death of a loved one caused by medical malpractice to seek legal advice and initiate a lawsuit. New York law does allow for the following exceptions:

  • Discovery of foreign instrument left inside of body: You have 12 months from the date you discovered this serious error to initiate a claim for medical negligence in New York. Please note, the 12-month clock starts from the date you first realized the error and not the date of the surgery itself.
  • New York statute of limitations regarding minor children: When victims of medical malpractice are under age 18, the statute of limitations doesn’t begin until the 18th birthday. However, neither the patient nor the parents can pursue a personal injury lawsuit more than 10 years after the medical malpractice occurred regardless of the child’s age. If the error or negligence happened when a child was five years old, for example, his or her parents would need to pursue an NYC medical malpractice case by the time the child turned 15.

Filing Medical Malpractice Claims for Maximum Compensation

Our medical malpractice lawyers have recovered numerous million-dollar verdicts and settlements for individuals whose lives have been changed due the negligence of a medical professional.

Recent examples of medical malpractice lawsuits our clients have won include:

$2.2 million award on behalf of a young teaching aide who is legally blind because of repeated failures to diagnose the cause of her severe headaches, despite three emergency room visits in one month. We proved that timely referral, diagnosis, and treatment could have prevented the irreversible damage to her vision.

$750,000 settlement for a 45-year-old woman whose breast cancer went untreated for six months because her OB-GYN doctor failed to inform her of a suspicious mass found on a sonogram. The award for the complications she suffered from the delayed diagnosis.

Discuss Your Claim With a Medical Malpractice Lawyer Today

We are known for results in big cases, and we are known for attending to our clients’ needs throughout the process. Call 212-268-3222 or contact us online for a free consultation with one of the top-rated New York City medical malpractice attorneys at Raphaelson & Levine Law Firm.

If you decide to pursue an attorney-client relationship after we provide you with a complimentary case evaluation, we will explain each of the next steps as you seek justice in your medical malpractice or wrongful death case. While our goal is always to arrive at a fair settlement with insurance companies, we are fully prepared to represent your interests in a court trial if necessary.

Award-Winning Law Firm

Located near Penn Station in New York, NY, our law firm serves Nassau County, Rockland County, Suffolk County, Westchester and all of New York State, including the five boroughs of NYC: Bronx, Brooklyn, Queens, Manhattan, and Staten Island.
View all our Awards
Request a Free Lawyer Consultation
Overwhelmed with medical expenses, lost wages, pain, & suffering? Don't settle with an insurance company for less than you deserve, we can help.
No fee unless
 we win
$700M in verdicts & settlements
Get a reply in 60 minutes