纽约州汽车安全座椅和增高座椅法律

纽约州是否要求儿童安全座椅和约束系统?

机动车事故不幸发生,每年有超过136,000名纽约人到急诊室接受治疗。如果儿童没有得到适当的约束,就会增加他们在车祸中受伤的风险。在儿童安全座椅和约束系统方面,纽约州制定了严格的规范。

州政府官员要求所有座椅和约束系统都必须按照《联邦机动车辆安全标准213》的规定进行认证。纽约州法律还要求:

  • 所有4岁及以下的儿童必须乘坐经批准的儿童安全座椅。
  • 所有儿童在8岁之前必须乘坐与年龄相适应的儿童约束系统。
  • 8岁以下的儿童可以乘坐与年龄相适应的安全座椅、安全带、背心或增高座椅,与汽车安全带配合使用,但不能单独使用安全带乘坐。
"在安装和固定儿童安全座椅或约束系统时,一定要遵循制造商提供的准确说明,以确保正确操作。也一定要按照联邦要求和制造商的指示,检查年龄、体重和身高的建议。不正确安装的儿童安全座椅或不适合儿童年龄或尺寸的安全座椅可能会有危险。儿童应始终坐在车辆的后座上。"- 霍华德-拉斐尔森,Raphaelson & Levine的纽约人身伤害律师。

美国疾病与预防中心指出,估计有46%的汽车和增高座椅使用不当。不正确的使用会降低效果。纽约的父母或照顾者如果需要帮助永久安装儿童安全座椅,可以到他们所在县的安装站,以确保他们的安全座椅被安全或稳固地放置(全州许多地点都需要预约)。

应该使用什么样的儿童安全座椅?

您选择的安全座椅应该牢固地安装在您的车辆上,每个孩子都应该有一个适合年龄和尺寸的座椅或约束装置。在选择儿童安全座椅时,你要仔细检查你的选择,以确保你为你的孩子选择合适的安全座椅。

婴儿座椅

用于体重22磅或以下、身长25英寸或以下的婴儿。婴儿座椅应始终面向机动车后部,切勿将其摆放在面向前方的位置或放在前排座椅上。如果副驾驶安全气囊充气,可能会造成严重伤害或死亡。婴儿座椅通常被认为是那些同时作为婴儿背带的座椅,因为座椅可以拆除,而底座仍由安全带固定。

可转换儿童安全座椅

用于体重40磅或以下的婴儿或学步儿童作为婴儿汽车座椅。放在这些座位上的婴儿应该面向后方,而两岁以上的学步儿童如果符合体重和身高要求,则可以面向前方。一定要遵循座椅制造商给出的指示。随着孩子的成长,这将是重要的,以确保孩子始终受到适当的约束和安全。许多现代的可转换汽车座椅可以安全地容纳大约60磅的儿童,一旦他们的年龄足够大,可以坐在向前的位置。这些座椅是用来固定的,而不是作为婴儿背带使用的。

纽约州增高座椅法

长得太大而无法适应婴儿座椅或可转换座椅的儿童,可以升级为增高座椅,与肩带/腰带一起使用(切勿单独使用增高座椅的腰带)。增高座椅是为4至8岁、体重40至80磅、身高不足4英尺9英寸的儿童设计的。

理想情况下,这些座椅应该尽可能长时间使用--在让8岁以上的孩子使用普通安全带之前,要确保他们已经超过了身高和体重的要求。有些孩子可以安全地使用增高座椅,直到他们年满12岁。 一定要确保增高座椅被正确安装和固定。

内置汽车儿童座椅

一些机动车制造商都配备了内置的儿童前向汽车座椅。这些是方便的,但问题是没有固定的重量和身高限制标准,这将因汽车制造商而有所不同。在使用这些座椅之前,请确保孩子的身高和体重符合车主手册中的建议。婴儿绝对不能坐在这些座椅上。

此外,许多汽车座椅都是"组合"座椅,可以随着孩子的成长而调整(即从婴儿背带到增高车)。检查您正在考虑的任何汽车座椅所附带的规格和说明,以确定其中一个是否是您孩子的正确决定。

美国儿科学会建议,在孩子的体重和身高没有达到安全座椅的要求之前,尽量让孩子面向后排。该组织还建议13岁以下的儿童,如果已经学会使用常规的膝部和肩部安全带,则应继续坐在后排座位上,以获得最佳保护。任何16岁以下的人,即使在机动车的后座上,也必须使用安全带。

汽车安全座椅可以在安全气囊旁边使用吗?

虽然纽约州法律并不禁止儿童乘客乘坐装有安全气囊的前排座椅,但儿科医生和汽车安全专家并不建议这样做。研究一致表明,安全气囊的展开会导致婴儿、幼儿甚至小成年人受到严重或致命的伤害。让儿童坐在后座永远是一个更安全的选择,尤其是身高五英尺以下的儿童。当安全气囊与膝部和肩部安全带结合使用时,对于身高超过5英尺的人来说是最安全的。纽约州法律规定,所有坐在机动车前排座位上的乘客都必须系上安全带。

违反纽约汽车安全座椅或安全带法律的处罚是什么?

在纽约州,违反汽车安全座椅或安全带法律的处罚是最高50美元的罚款。如果违反16岁以下的人没有被适当地约束在安全座椅或安全带中(根据年龄和大小),罚款可以增加到100美元,如果被定罪,一个人的驾照上还会被扣3分。如果怀疑司机或乘客没有受到适当的约束,执法人员可以将司机拦下。

自1992年以来,Raphaelson & Levine律师事务所的律师一直为纽约市及周边县市提供服务。如果您或您的亲人因汽车安全座椅、安全带或粗心的司机而受伤,我们可以通过检查您的情况来确定您是否有案可查。我们的律师是纽约州汽车安全座椅法方面的专家,很乐意为您提供免费咨询。请致电212-268-3222给我们。

资料来源


h
ttps://www.health.ny.gov/statistics/prevention/injury_prevention/traffic/county_of_residence.htm#state https://www.aap.org/en-us/about-the-aap/aap-press-room/Pages/AAP-Updates-Recommendations-on-Car-Seats-for-Children.aspx https://www.cdc.gov/motorvehiclesafety/child_passenger_safety/cps-factsheet.html https://www.health.ny.gov/statistics/prevention/injury_prevention/traffic/county_of_residence.htm#state

Howard Raphaelson
Howard A. Raphaelson在1992年从Benjamin N. Cardozo法学院毕业后,创立了Raphaelson & Levine Law Firm, P.C.。他的人身伤害律师事务所成立于纽约州的纽约市,他的律师事务所已经获得了许多百万美元的判决。凭借超过25年的人身伤害律师经验,他赢得了同行、法官和高层领导的信赖,包括被评为"超级律师"(汤森路透)和"纽约最佳律师"(纽约杂志)的前5%伤害律师。
查看律师资料

Español中文 VOICE OF THE INJURED

NYS Car Seat And Booster Seat Laws

Home / Blog / NYS Car Seat And Booster Seat Laws

Does New York State Require Child Safety Seats and Restraint Systems?

Motor vehicle accidents, unfortunately, occur with more than 136,000 New Yorkers visiting emergency rooms each year to be treated. If children aren’t properly restrained, this increases their risk of injury in the event of a crash. New York State has established strict specifications when it comes to child safety seats and restraint systems.

State officials require all seats and restraint systems be certified as outlined under Federal Motor Vehicles Safety Standard 213. New York State law also requires:

  • All children age 4 and younger must ride in approved child safety seats.
  • All children must ride in a child an age-appropriate restraint system until they turn 8 years old.
  • Children under age 8 can ride in an age-appropriate seat, harness, vest, or booster seat in conjunction with a vehicle seat belt but they cannot ride with a seat belt alone.

“Always be sure to follow the exact instructions given by manufacturers when installing and securing a child safety seat or restraint system to ensure it’s done correctly. Be sure to also check age, weight, and height recommendations as directed by federal requirements and the manufacturer. An incorrectly installed child safety seat or one that is not used for the right age or child size can be dangerous. Children should always ride in the rear seat of the vehicle.”

Howard Raphaelson, New York Personal Injury Lawyer – Raphaelson & Levine

The U.S. Centers for Disease and Prevention indicates an estimated 46% of car and booster seats are incorrectly used. Incorrect use decreases effectiveness. Parents or caregivers in New York who need help permanently installing a child safety seat can visit a fitting station in their county to ensure their seat is positioned safely or securely (many locations throughout the state do require an appointment to be made).

What Kind Of Child Safety Seats Should Be Used?

The seat you choose should fit firmly in your vehicle and each child should have a seat or restraint that is both age and size appropriate. When choosing your child safety seat, you’ll want to examine your choices carefully to make certain you choose the right one for your child.

Infant Seats

Used for infants weighing 22 pounds or less and are 25 inches or less in length. Infant seats should always face the rear of the motor vehicle, they should never be positioned facing frontward or placed in the front seat. If the passenger airbag were to inflate, this could result in a serious injury or fatality. Infant seats are commonly recognized as those that also serve as infant carriers because the seat can be removed while the base remains secured by a seat belt.

Convertible Child Safety Seats

Used for infants or toddlers that weigh 40 pounds or less as an infant car seat. Infants placed in these seats should face the rear while toddlers over the age of two can face forward if they meet weight and height requirements. Always follow directives given by a seat’s manufacturer. As a child grows, this will be important to ensure a child is always properly restrained and safe. Many modern convertible car seats can safely accommodate children to approximately 60 pounds once they are old enough to be seated in the forward-facing position. These seats are meant to be stationary and not used as an infant carrier.

Booster Seat Law NY

Children who grow too large to fit into an infant or convertible seat can graduate to a booster seat to be used in combination with a shoulder/lap belt (never use a lap belt alone with a booster). Booster seats are designed for children aged 4 to 8 years old, weigh 40 to 80 pounds, and are under 4 feet, 9 inches in height.

Ideally, these seats should be used as long as possible – before allowing a child over the age of 8 to use a regular seat belt be sure they’ve outgrown the height and weight requirements. Some children can safely use a booster seat until they reach 12 years of age.  Always be sure booster seats are properly installed and secured.

Built-in Vehicle Child Seats

Some motor vehicle manufacturers are equipped with built-in child forward-facing car seats. These are convenient but the problem is there is no set standard for weight and height limits, this will vary by the car manufacturer. Before using one of these seats, be sure the child meets height and weight recommendations as outlined in the car owner manual. Infants should never be placed in one of these seats.

Additionally, many car seats are “combo” seats that can be adjusted as a child grows (i.e. from infant carrier to booster). Check the specifications and instructions that accompany any car seat you’re considering to determine if one of these is the right decision for your child.

The American Academy of Pediatrics recommends a child face the rear as long as possible until he or she outgrows the weight and height requirements of the seat. The organization also recommends children under the age of 13 who have graduated to using a regular lap and shoulder seat belt remain in the rear seat for the best protection. Anyone under the age of 16 must use a seat belt even when riding in the back seat of a motor vehicle.

Can A Car Seat Be Used Next To An Airbag?

While New York State law doesn’t prohibit a child passenger to ride in a front seat equipped with an airbag, it is not recommended by pediatricians and car safety experts. Studies have consistently shown airbags that are deployed can lead to serious or fatal injuries to babies, toddlers, and even small adults. Seating children in the rear seat is always a safer option, especially those under five feet tall. Airbags are safest for people over five feet tall when used in combination with a lap and shoulder seat belt. New York State law requires all passengers riding in the front seat of a motor vehicle to wear a seat belt.

What Are The Penalties For Violating NY Car Seat Or Seat Belt Laws?

In New York State, the penalty for violating car seat or safety belts laws is a fine of up to $50. If the violation a person under age 16 is not properly restrained in a seat or belt (according to age and size) the fine can be increased to $100, along with three driver violation points on one’s license if convicted. A driver can be pulled over by law enforcement if it is suspected a driver or passenger is not properly restrained.

The attorneys at the Raphaelson & Levine Law firm have been serving New York City and the surrounding counties since 1992. If you, or a loved one, have suffered an injury due to a faulty car seat, seat belt, or careless driver, we can help by examining your situation to determine if you have a case. Our attorneys are experts in NYS Car Seat Laws and are happy to provide you with a free consultation. Give us a call at 212-268-3222.

Sources:
https://www.health.ny.gov/statistics/prevention/injury_prevention/traffic/county_of_residence.htm#state
https://www.aap.org/en-us/about-the-aap/aap-press-room/Pages/AAP-Updates-Recommendations-on-Car-Seats-for-Children.aspx
https://www.cdc.gov/motorvehiclesafety/child_passenger_safety/cps-factsheet.html
https://www.health.ny.gov/statistics/prevention/injury_prevention/traffic/county_of_residence.htm#state

By: Howard Raphaelson

Howard A. Raphaelson founded Raphaelson & Levine Law Firm, P.C. in 1992 after graduating from the Benjamin N. Cardozo School of Law. Established in New York, NY, his personal injury law firm has obtained numerous million-dollar verdicts. With over twenty-five years of experience as a personal injury attorney, he has earned a trusted reputation from his peers, judges, and top leaders, including recognition among the top 5% injury attorneys as a “Super Lawyer” (Thomson Reuters) and “New York’s Best Lawyers” (New York Magazine). View all posts by Howard Raphaelson

Recent Legal Insights

Injured? We Can Help.

If you or a loved one have been injured and have questions about your legal options, contact Raphaelson & Levine today. Our personal injury lawyers have helped thousands of New Yorkers understand their next steps following a serious injury. Call (212) 268-3222 or request a free lawyer consultation.

Contact Us Today For A

free lawyer consultation

Overwhelmed with medical expenses, lost wages, pain, and suffering? Don't settle with an insurance company for less than you deserve. Complete the form below to speak with an attorney about your claim.

14 Penn Plaza, Suite 1718
New York, NY 10122 (Directions)
Manhattan Law Office: (212) 268-3222
Hours: Open 24 hours

NOTE: ALL FIELDS ARE REQUIRED

Contact Us

Free Lawyer Consultation

3 Shares
Email
Share3
Tweet
Share