纽约市整容手术不良行为律师事务所

每年都有数百万人求助于美容外科医生,为他们的身体进行整形手术。根据美国整形外科医生协会的数据,2018年,医生进行了1770万次美容手术(1.8次美容外科手术和15.9次美容微创手术)和580万次重建手术。虽然大多数手术都能按照预期进行,但不幸的是,有时它们确实会出现可怕的错误。

如果您或您的亲人因整容医生的疏忽而受到伤害,Raphaelson & Levine律师事务所的律师将为您提供支持。请致电我们 212-268-3222 或通过我们的在线表格与我们联系,以获得免费的案例评估。

美容手术的类型

整容手术是整形外科的一个类别。人们接受整形外科手术来修复严重受伤的皮肤或肉体,如严重烧伤或替换因癌症而切除的乳房材料。整容手术通常是人们选择做的选择性医疗程序,以提高或改善他们的外观。医生每天都会进行许多不同类型的美容手术程序。常见的美容和微创手术类型包括。

  • 缩小乳房 
  • 隆胸
  • 隆鼻手术
  • 拉皮手术
  • 吸脂手术
  • 鼻部整形
  • 腹部吸脂术
  • 双眼皮手术
  • 肉毒素注射
  • 化学剥皮
  • 激光脱毛
  • 软组织填充物
  • 皮肤焕肤

虽然这些手术被认为是安全的,但任何医疗手术,无论多么微创,都不会没有风险。不过,患者在选择做美容手术时,还是有一个合理的预期,那就是不会受到伤害或受到严重的伤害。

美容手术常见的误诊类型

整容手术过失可能引起的并发症类型通常涉及手术错误,也被称为"拙劣的手术"。这些医疗事故的错误往往是由于程序错误,或者如果没有经验的外科医生或不熟练的外科医生进行了手术。常见的错误包括但不限于:

  • 在错误的身体部位进行手术
  • 疏忽注射药物
  • 麻醉引起的并发症
  • 麻醉师所犯的错误
  • 超出患者的同意范围
  • 外科医生愿意在没有执照或没有适当经验的情况下进行手术。

不喜欢结果不一定等同于医疗事故,但患者有合理的期望,他们的整形外科医生会在任何程序或手术之前、期间和之后保证他们的安全。进行整形美容手术的医疗专业人员有责任识别潜在的问题,并使用财产安全协议来减轻任何并发症。如果不这样做,就相当于医疗过失。

整容手术误诊并发症

虽然整形手术往往是由于事故或医疗条件造成的毁容的必要性,大多数类型的美容手术在很大程度上是选择性的。被告及其保险公司和律师往往会试图向陪审团推销"你不需要手术"的角度,陪审团可能会同情这种心态,并将部分责任推给受害方。在案件审理过程中,人性可能会发挥作用,因为陪审团可能会因为原告"虚荣"、"懒惰"或有钱支付选择性手术而对其产生偏见,因为除非手术是医学上需要的,否则保险公司是不会支付的。

由于这些手术的性质并不是出于健康原因所必需的,把一个案件放在一起可能是很困难的,而且在审判过程中可能出现的任何无意识的偏见必须在它们发生之前处理。患者成功提出美容手术失误索赔的最佳机会是从一个有经验的人身伤害律师那里获得法律意见,他擅长美容手术失误案件。熟知纽约州人身伤害法律的律师可以利用技术将一个强有力的案件放在一起,在没有合理怀疑的情况下证明疏忽,并引起陪审团的同情。

整形外科手术不当诉讼损害赔偿

与任何其他类型的医疗事故案件不同,要在纽约州提起诉讼,患者必须确立四个关键因素。他们必须: 

  1. 证明有医患关系。
  2. 证明整容医生有过失。
  3. 显示发生了伤害。
  4. 证明遭受了具体的损失。 

如果这四个因素能够得到验证,就满足了提起整形美容不良诉讼的必要标准。

经济损害赔偿

根据纽约州的法律,受害者可以追究与整容手术错误有关的经济损失。许多选择做整容手术的人必须自掏腰包。他们可以就其支付的费用、随后的医疗费、工资损失和其他经济损失获得补偿。

非经济损失

受伤的患者如果能够证明自己遭受了身体伤害,就可以获得赔偿。这包括但不限于疤痕、失明、畸形、神经损伤、血栓、毁容、感染、身体疼痛和精神创伤。法院通常会考虑伤害的类型、其严重程度以及预期的疼痛时间。

惩罚性损害赔偿

当法院或陪审团希望"惩罚"被告的故意和恶意行为,并对其他人提出强烈警告时,通常会判给惩罚性损害赔偿。虽然这种做法不太可能得到批准,但一些原告还是获得了惩罚性赔偿,这取决于其伤害的性质和导致伤害发生的情况。

纽约市医疗事故律师免费咨询

在美国,每年都有数百万人选择接受美容或整形手术,并对手术结果抱有很大希望。可悲的是,情况并非总是如此。如果你的美容或整形外科医生犯了一个错误,导致你遭受一个或多个伤害或亲人的错误死亡,请联系Raphaelson & Levine律师事务所富有同情心的医疗事故律师 

我们为自己作为"伤者之声"的声誉而自豪。律师与客户的关系对我们来说非常重要,我们给每个客户100%的服务。我们的法律团队将把一个强大的医疗事故诉讼,并主张你为你在美容过程中或之后遭受的伤害获得正义。请致电我们的律师事务所 212-268-3222接受免费咨询或通过我们的在线表格联系我们。

屡获殊荣的律师事务所

Located near Penn Station in New York, NY, our law firm serves Nassau County, Rockland County, Suffolk County, Westchester and all of New York State, including the five boroughs of NYC: Bronx, Brooklyn, Queens, Manhattan, and Staten Island.
10 Best Personal Injury Attorneys For Client Satisfaction Award
Multi-Million Dollar Advocates Forum award for personal injury lawyers
Top 100 Trial Lawyers award
The Best Lawyers In America© award
Super Lawyers award
查看所有奖项

NYC Cosmetic Surgery Malpractice Lawyers

Every year millions of people turn to cosmetic surgeons to perform reconstructive surgery on their bodies. According to the American Society of Plastic Surgeons, in 2018, doctors performed 17.7 million cosmetic procedures (1.8 cosmetic surgical procedures and 15.9 cosmetic minimally-invasive procedures) and 5.8 million reconstructive procedures. While most surgeries go as expected, unfortunately, sometimes they do go horribly wrong.

If you, or a loved one, suffered an injury due to the negligence of a cosmetic surgeon, the lawyers at the Raphaelson & Levine law firm are here to support you. Call us 212-268-3222 or contact us through our online form for a free case evaluation.

Types of Cosmetic Procedures

Cosmetic surgery is a category of plastic surgery. People receive plastic surgery to fix skin or flesh that has been seriously injured, such as with serious burns or replacing breast material removed due to cancer. Cosmetic surgeries are usually elective medical procedures people opt to do to enhance or improve their appearance. Doctors perform numerous different types of cosmetic surgery procedures every day. Common types of cosmetic and minimally-invasive procedures include:

  • Breast reduction 
  • Breast augmentation
  • Rhinoplasty
  • Facelifts
  • Liposuction
  • Nose reshaping
  • Abdominoplasty (tummy tuck)
  • Eyelid surgery
  • Botox injections
  • Chemical peels
  • Laser hair removal
  • Soft tissue fillers
  • Skin resurfacing

While these procedures are deemed safe, no medical surgery, regardless of how minimally-invasive, doesn’t come without risk. However, patients still have a reasonable expectation that they won’t be harmed or suffer serious injury when opting to get cosmetic surgery.

Common Types of Cosmetic Surgery Malpractice Errors

The types of complications that can arise from cosmetic surgery negligence often involves surgical error, also known as “botched surgeries.” These medical malpractice mistakes often occur due to procedural errors or if an inexperienced surgeon or unskilled surgeon performed the surgery. Common errors include, but are not limited to:

  • Surgery performed on the wrong body part
  • Negligent injections of drugs
  • Complications from anesthesia
  • Errors committed by an anesthesiologist
  • Exceeds consent of the patient
  • Surgeon willingly performs surgery without a license or with proper experience.

Not liking results doesn’t necessarily equate to medical malpractice, but patients have a reasonable expectation their cosmetic surgeons will keep them safe before, during, and after any procedure or surgery. Medical professionals who perform plastic and cosmetic surgery have a responsibility to identify potential problems and use property safety protocols to mitigate any complications. Failure to do so equates to medical negligence.

Cosmetic Surgery Malpractice Complications

While plastic surgery is often a necessity due to disfigurement caused by an accident or medical condition, most types of cosmetic surgeries are largely elective. Defendants and their insurance companies and attorneys will often try to push a “you didn’t need surgery” angle to juries who may be sympathetic to this mindset and put partial blame on the injured party. Human nature may come into play during the case because juries may be biased against plaintiffs for being “vain”, “lazy,” or for having the money to pay for elective surgery since insurance companies won’t cover it unless the surgery is medically needed.

Due to the nature of these surgeries not being necessary for health reasons, putting a case together can be difficult, and any unconscious biases that may emerge during the trial must be dealt with before they happen. A patient’s best chance of successfully filing a cosmetic surgery malpractice claim is to get legal advice from an experienced personal injury attorney who is skilled with cosmetic surgery malpractice cases. Attorneys who are well-versed in NYS personal injury law can put together a strong case using techniques to prove negligence without a reasonable doubt and evoke sympathy from a jury.

Plastic Surgery Malpractice Lawsuit Damages

Unlike any other type of medical malpractice case, to file a lawsuit in New York State, a patient must establish four critical factors. They must: 

  1. Prove there was a patient-doctor relationship.
  2. Demonstrate the cosmetic surgeon was negligent.
  3. Show an injury occurred.
  4. Demonstrate specific damages were suffered. 

If these four factors can be validated, it satisfies the criteria necessary to file a plastic surgery malpractice lawsuit.

Economic Damages

Under NYS law, victims can pursue economic damages related to cosmetic surgery errors. Many people who elect to have cosmetic surgery must pay out of pocket. They can be reimbursed for their payments, subsequent medical bills, lost wages, and other financial losses.

Non-Economic Damages

Injured patients can receive compensation if they can prove they’ve suffered physical injury. This includes but is not limited to scarring, blindness, deformities, nerve damage, blood clots, disfigurement, infection, physical pain, and emotional trauma. Courts will typically consider the type of injury, its severity, and how long the pain is anticipated.

Punitive Damage

Punitive damage is usually awarded when a court or jury wants to “punish” a defendant for their intentional and malicious actions and make a strong warning to others. While it’s less likely to be granted, some plaintiffs are awarded punitive damages, depending on the nature of their injury and what circumstances led to it occurring.

Free Consultation with a New York City Medical Malpractice Lawyer

Every year millions of people in the United States choose to undergo cosmetic or plastic surgery with high hopes of having a positive outcome. Sadly, this isn’t always the case. If your cosmetic or plastic surgeon committed an error that led to you suffering one or more injuries or the wrongful death of a loved one, contact the compassionate medical malpractice attorneys at Raphaelson & Levine. 

We pride ourselves in our reputation for being the "Voice of the Injured." The attorney-client relationship is very important to us, and we give each client 100%. Our legal team will put together a strong medical malpractice lawsuit and advocate for you to receive justice for the injuries you’ve suffered during or after having your cosmetic procedure. Call our law office at 212-268-3222 to receive a free consultation or contact us through our online form.

Award-Winning Law Firm

Located near Penn Station, our law firm serves Nassau County, Rockland County, Suffolk County, Westchester and all other cities and counties in New York, including the five boroughs of New York City: Bronx, Brooklyn, Queens, Manhattan, and Staten Island.
View all our Awards