医院是否会在庭外支付误杀索赔?

每年有几十万人因为医疗错误而死亡根据你所读到的研究,每年有25万到44万的人因为医护人员的错误而死亡。根据你所读到的研究报告,每年有25万至44万人因医疗服务提供者的错误而死亡。其中许多错误的死亡发生在纽约市医院的住院和门诊治疗期间。

其中一些案件将进入审判阶段,但更多的针对医院的不当死亡索赔在审判开始前就在庭外解决。

您的家人是否在医院经历了错误的死亡?拉斐尔森律师事务所可以帮助你

在我们的律师事务所,我们理解人们在失去亲人时所经历的痛苦和折磨,特别是当死亡本来是可以避免的。受害者所遭受的损失是无法估量的,我们相信受害者应该为他们所遭受的错误发出声音。

在Raphaelson & Levine,我们富有同情心的律师在这里指导纽约家庭度过这个非常困难的时刻。要了解更多关于这种悲剧发生后的法律选择,请拨打212-268-3222联系Raphaelson & Levine的非正常死亡律师

什么是医院冤假错案索赔?

当所爱的人因医疗服务提供者的疏忽而死亡时,受害者家属可依法为其损失伸张正义。在纽约州,法律要求提供五个要素的证据,以确立不当死亡索赔。

  • 发生了一起死亡事件
  • 死亡是由被告人的错误或过失行为造成的
  • 引起死者在没有死亡的情况下本可向法院提起诉讼的原因。
  • 一人或多人因受害者的死亡而遭受损失。
  • 受害人的财产可以得到的损害赔偿

不幸的是,医疗错误比他们应该的更常见。根据美国疾病控制和预防中心(CDC)的数据,在美国,意外伤害是继心脏病和癌症之后的第三大死亡原因。

医疗失误往往是由于技术不熟练或训练有素的工作人员、设施人员不足、护理人员判断失误、治疗过程中的失误(剂量错误、用药错误、未诊断的手术并发症、麻醉失误或其他严重失误),或软件程序的系统问题、硬件故障或其他类型的系统缺陷。

哪些人可以向医院提起冤假错案诉讼?

根据纽约州法律,死者的遗属可以对医院提起非正常死亡诉讼,但是,提起诉讼的人必须是死者遗产的个人代表。此人可以代表此人尚存的家庭成员或有资格获得补偿性赔偿的受益人提起诉讼,但家庭成员不能自己提出索赔。

受益人只能追回因医院的疏忽或鲁莽行为而造成的经济损失。纽约州的法律不允许家属和其他亲人在这种情况下追讨因疼痛和痛苦造成的损失。  

向医院提出误杀索赔的依据是什么?

对医院的非正常死亡索赔可包括为收入和福利损失、抚养费损失、医疗费和其他费用、遗产损失以及葬礼和安葬费寻求正义。虽然纽约州法律不允许精神上的痛苦,但索赔可以对失去父母的指导、父母的养育和对幸存子女的照顾进行估值。

通常情况下,如果在医院过失致死诉讼中获得损害赔偿,赔偿金会分配给死者的配偶和子女。在某些情况下,其他人谁可能在经济上依赖死者的支持(即父母或成年子女),可以有资格获得恢复。在某些情况下,法院将对医院判处惩罚性赔偿,作为对其导致悲剧的过失的惩罚。

纽约州有诉讼时效吗?

纽约州法律确实规定,家庭成员和/或个人代表必须在其亲人死亡之日起两年内提出诉讼,因为提起非正常死亡诉讼的时效为两年。任何超过这一时限的案件将不被允许。

医院是否会在庭外支付误杀索赔?

与许多其他人身伤害索赔一样,过失致死案件可以在庭外解决。许多医院可以而且确实在踏入法庭之前就解决了与医疗事故有关的案件。美国法官协会分享的统计数字告诉我们,84%的未决侵权案件在审前阶段就达成了和解。这将包括那些对医院提出的索赔。

庭外和解的好处是什么?

由于医院的疏忽大意而导致他们所关心的人丧生的人,应该向有经验的律师咨询,由他来评估他们的选择。最好的选择可能是避免法庭审判,而是寻求错误的死亡诉讼和解。许多幸存者出于不同的原因,更倾向于庭外和解。

  • 避免昂贵和耗时的审判。审判需要律师、专家证人、证物、法庭费用、取证和大量时间。庭外和解可以通过谈判解决,减少审判所需的复杂因素或其他因素,并且可以更快完成。
  • Limit stress. Trials are very stressful because they are time-consuming and many survivors find it difficult to go through the process for many reasons. One being they have to relive the pain of hearing about the details associated with their family member's death.
  • Maintain privacy. Court settlements can be kept private, but claims against hospitals that go to trial are all on public record which means anyone can read the details associated with the case. Many people prefer to keep their family member's experience more private. An attorney can also work a confidentiality clause into a settlement agreement.
  • 责任因素。医院不希望公开记录他们被发现有过失。因此,许多人会倾向于庭外和解,以减少不良影响。
  • 上诉程序。和解是一个最终的决定,解决了案件。如果医院在庭审中败诉,他们有权上诉,很多医院会这样做。这意味着案件可能会持续很长时间。
  • 陪审团的不确定性。法院审判依赖于陪审团的决定。这可能对死者的遗属有利,但其他时候则不然。在审判范围之外谈判达成的和解可以确定医院将为其过失支付多少钱。

过失致死律师擅长谈判,一般知道医院什么时候会提出更低的报价,并能决定案件是否应该进行审判。向律师寻求法律咨询的受害者会发现,他们的法律代表能够谈判出比第一次甚至第二次报价更好的报价。

Ralphaelson & Levine律师事务所是纽约受伤者的代言人。

自1992年以来,Raphaelson & Levine律师事务所兢兢业业的律师一直致力于确保医院过失的受害者有最好的成功机会。金钱永远无法取代失去一个珍贵的家庭成员,但一个错误的死亡诉讼意味着家庭可以得到正义和关闭。它也使设施和提供者对他们的疏忽负责,这可以挽救未来的生命。

我们理解失去亲人是一种痛苦的经历,我们的律师将以最敏感的态度处理您的案件。我们的律师事务所服务于纽约市的五个区、长岛、洛克兰县、威彻斯特县以及周边县市。

要获得免费咨询,请致电我们的律师事务所,电话是212-268-3222。

Howard Raphaelson
Howard A. Raphaelson在1992年从Benjamin N. Cardozo法学院毕业后,创立了Raphaelson & Levine Law Firm, P.C.。他的人身伤害律师事务所成立于纽约州的纽约市,他的律师事务所已经获得了许多百万美元的判决。凭借超过25年的人身伤害律师经验,他赢得了同行、法官和高层领导的信赖,包括被评为"超级律师"(汤森路透)和"纽约最佳律师"(纽约杂志)的前5%伤害律师。
查看律师资料

Skip to content
Español中文 VOICE OF THE INJURED

Do Hospitals Pay Wrongful Death Claims Out Of Court?

Home / FAQs / Do Hospitals Pay Wrongful Death Claims Out Of Court?

Every year hundreds of thousands of people die because of medical mistakes. Depending on which study you read, anywhere between 250,000 and 440,000 people die every year due to an error made by a health care provider. Many of these wrongful deaths occur in New York City hospitals during both inpatient and outpatient treatments.

Some of these cases will go to trial, but many more wrongful death claims against hospitals are settled out of court before a trial commences.

Has Your Family Experienced a Wrongful Death in a Hospital? Raphaelson & Levine Can Help

At our law firm, we understand the pain and agony people experience when they lose a loved one, especially when the death could have been prevented. The loss victims suffer is immeasurable and we believe victims should have a voice for the wrongs they’ve suffered.

At Raphaelson & Levine, our sympathetic lawyers are here to guide New York families through this very difficult time. To learn more about legal options after this kind of a tragedy occurs, contact the wrongful death attorneys at Raphaelson & Levine at 212-268-3222.

What is A Hospital Wrongful Death Claim?

When a loved one dies due to the negligence of a health care provider, the family of the victim can legally pursue justice for their loss. In the State of New York, the law requires proof of five elements to establish a wrongful death claim.

  • A death has occurred
  • Death was caused by wrongful or negligent conduct by the defendant
  • Giving rise to a cause of action the deceased could have pursued in court had their death not occurred
  • One or more persons suffered a loss as a result of the death of the victim
  • Damages the victim’s estate can recover

Unfortunately, medical mistakes are more common than they should be. According to the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), unintentional injuries are the third leading cause of death after heart disease and cancer in the United States.

Medical mistakes are often attributed to inadequately skilled or trained staff, understaffed facilities, caregiver judgment errors, mistakes made during the course of treatment (incorrect dose, wrong medication, undiagnosed surgical complications, anesthesia mistakes, or other grave errors), or a system problem in a software program, hardware failure, or another type of system defect.

Who Can File a Wrongful Death Lawsuit Against a Hospital?

Under New York State law, survivors of the deceased can file a wrongful death lawsuit against a hospital, however, the person filing must be the personal representative of the decedent’s estate. This individual can file on behalf of the person’s surviving family members or beneficiaries who are eligible to recover compensatory damages, but family members cannot file a claim themselves.

Beneficiaries can only recover economic losses they suffer as a result of the hospital’s negligence or reckless behavior. New York State law doesn’t permit families and other loved ones to recover losses due to pain and suffering in this type of circumstance.  

What is the Basis for a Wrongful Death Claim Against a Hospital?

A wrongful death claim against a hospital can include sought justice for lost earnings and benefits, loss of support, medical bills and other expenses, loss of inheritance, and funeral and burial costs. While emotional suffering is not allowed under NYS law, a claim can place a value on the loss of parental guidance, parental nurturing, and care to surviving children.

Usually, if damages are awarded in a hospital wrongful death lawsuit, the monies are distributed to the decedent’s spouse and children. In some cases, others who might have been financially dependent on the decedent for support (i.e. parents or adult children) can be eligible for recovery. In some instances, a court of law will impose punitive damages on a hospital as a punishment for its negligence that resulted in tragedy.

Are there Statutes of Limitations in New York State?

New York State law does dictate the family members and/or personal representative must file within two years of the date of their loved one’s date of death since there is a two-year statute of limitations to file a wrongful death lawsuit. Any cases filed beyond this time limit will not be allowed.

Do Hospitals Pay Wrongful Death Claims Out of Court?

Like many other personal injury claims, wrongful death cases can be settled out of court. Many hospitals can and do settle cases related to medical malpractice before ever stepping foot into a courtroom. Statistics shared by the American Judges Association tell us 84% of pending tort cases settle in the pre-trial period. This would include those claims brought against hospitals.

What are the Benefits of Settling Out of Court?

People who have suffered the loss of a person they care about due to a hospital’s carelessness should speak to an experienced attorney who can evaluate their options. The best option may be to avoid a court trial and seek a wrongful death action settlement instead. Many survivors prefer to settle out of court for different reasons.

  • Avoid an expensive and time-consuming trial. Trials require attorneys, expert witnesses, exhibits, court costs, depositions, and a lot of time. Out of court settlements can be negotiated with fewer complications or other factors trials require and can be done far more quickly.
  • Limit stress. Trials are very stressful because they are time-consuming and many survivors find it difficult to go through the process for many reasons. One being they have to relive the pain of hearing about the details associated with their family member’s death.
  • Maintain privacy. Court settlements can be kept private, but claims against hospitals that go to trial are all on public record which means anyone can read the details associated with the case. Many people prefer to keep their family member’s experience more private. An attorney can also work a confidentiality clause into a settlement agreement.
  • Liability factors. Hospitals don’t want it on public record they were found guilty of negligence. As a result, many will prefer out of court settlements to keep bad publicity down.
  • Appeals process. A settlement is a final decision and settles the case. If a hospital loses a trial, they have the right to appeal and many will do so. This means the case can go on for a very prolonged period of time.
  • Uncertainty of a jury. Court trials rely on the decision of a jury. This can work in the favor of a decedent’s survivors, but other times it won’t. A settlement negotiated outside the scope of a trial can provide certainty over how much the hospital will pay for its negligence.

A wrongful death attorney is skilled at negotiation and generally knows when hospitals will make lower offers and can determine if the case should go to trial. Victims who turn to attorneys for legal advice will find their legal representation are able to negotiate better offers than the first or even second offers.

Ralphaelson & Levine Law Firm is the Voice of New York’s Injured

Since 1992, the dedicated attorneys at the Ralphaelson & Levine law firm have worked to ensure victims of hospital negligence have the best possible chances of success. Money can never replace the loss of a cherished family member but a wrongful death lawsuit means the family can receive justice and closure. It also makes facilities and providers held accountable for their negligence, and this can save future lives.

We understand losing a loved one is a painful experience and our lawyers will handle your case with the utmost sensitivity. Our law office serves all five New York City boroughs, Long Island, Rockland County, Westchester County, and surrounding counties and cities. To obtain a free consultation, call our Manhattan law office at 212-268-3222.

By: Howard Raphaelson

Howard A. Raphaelson founded Raphaelson & Levine Law Firm, P.C. in 1992 after graduating from the Benjamin N. Cardozo School of Law. Established in New York, NY, his personal injury law firm has obtained numerous million-dollar verdicts. With over twenty-five years of experience as a personal injury attorney, he has earned a trusted reputation from his peers, judges, and top leaders, including recognition among the top 5% injury attorneys as a “Super Lawyer” (Thomson Reuters) and “New York’s Best Lawyers” (New York Magazine). View all posts by Howard Raphaelson

RECENT FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

Questions? We Can help.

If you've been injured and have questions about your legal options, contact Raphaelson & Levine today. We've helped thousands of New Yorkers understand their next steps following an injury. Call (212) 268-3222 or request a free lawyer consultation.

Contact Us Today For A

free lawyer consultation

Overwhelmed with medical expenses, lost wages, pain, and suffering? Don't settle with an insurance company for less than you deserve. Complete the form below to speak with an attorney about your claim.

14 Penn Plaza, Suite 1718
New York, NY 10122 (Directions)
Manhattan Law Office: (212) 268-3222
Hours: Open 24 hours

NOTE: ALL FIELDS ARE REQUIRED

Contact Us

Free Lawyer Consultation

Scroll To Top
0 Shares
Email
Share
Tweet
Share