纽约追尾事故律师

不幸的是,车祸是纽约市生活的一个现实方面,每年发生数十万起事故。虽然有些事故是可以预防的,但很多时候司机的疏忽导致了这些事故。

追尾事故是最常见的汽车碰撞类型。根据美国国家公路交通安全管理局(NHTSA)的数据,在美国,汽车追尾事故约占所有车祸的29%。 

Raphaelson & Levine人身伤害律师已经代表纽约市车祸受害者超过30年。我们相信,受害者应该有一个声音,我们的车祸律师尽一切努力,以确保受害者得到正义和公平的赔偿,为他们的伤害和痛苦。如果您因追尾车祸而受伤,请致电我们的律师事务所,电话:212-268-3222或填写我们的在线联系表。

哪些情况构成后车碰撞?

当一辆车从后面撞上另一辆车时,就会发生追尾碰撞。它可能发生在停在停止标志,交通灯,等待转弯,甚至在积极驾驶时。被另一个驾车者从后面撞到的影响可能是严重的,特别是当汽车或卡车高速行驶时。其他决定追尾碰撞严重程度的因素包括所涉车辆的大小、汽车安全功能以及车内人员是否系了安全带。

追尾事故的原因及过失的认定

后方碰撞的发生方式有很多。分心驾驶是导致这种类型的车祸的行为清单的顶端。分心驾驶包括使用手机、发短信、上网、化妆、吃东西、喝水、做白日梦、调整收音机或气候控制。它还包括疲劳和情绪状况(即"路怒")。当驾驶员没有全神贯注地看路时,就为车祸的发生创造了条件。

其他常见原因包括:

激烈驾驶和超速行驶

急躁的司机在跟在慢车后面时,经常会有追尾行为,如果前车要突然停车,后车司机往往因为没有在安全距离内行驶,没有时间完全踩刹车。

鲁莽驾驶

司机如果超速行驶、在车道上穿梭,或者非法超车,都会增加追尾其他司机的风险,因为他们没有实行安全驾驶。

醉酒或受物质影响

饮酒或吸毒的司机在开车时往往会受到损害,判断力差,这就增加了追尾碰撞的风险。

这些都是一些最常见的导致后车碰撞的原因。人们认为后车司机总是有过错--在大多数情况下都是如此--但有时过错可以完全或部分地归咎于其他司机(即刹车灯可能熄灭或他们意外地短停)。纽约州遵从纯粹的比较过失规则,这意味着在任何车祸中,双方都可以被分配到一定比例的过失。

由于纽约州也是一个无过失保险的州,所以在车祸发生后,事情会变得很棘手。许多事故索赔最初被保险公司拒绝。车祸律师是你最好的盟友,当处理保险公司,因为他们可以争取保险公司支付他们应该向车祸受害者。

追尾事故中的常见伤害

遭受过追尾事故的人,最初可能不会意识到自己受伤的严重性,因为症状可能不会立即显现。有时伤害最初似乎是轻微的,但疼痛和症状可能会在事故后的几天或几周内恶化。常见的后车祸伤害包括:

  • 脑震荡
  • 颈椎病,是一种软组织损伤,也是后方碰撞事故中最常见的。
  • 脑外伤(TBI)
  • 颈部受伤,包括扭伤
  • 脊髓损伤
  • 碎骨
  • 背部损伤,包括扭伤和椎间盘突出或膨出。
  • 瘀伤
  • 安全带造成的内伤
  • 窗户破碎造成的撕裂伤
  • 腿部和膝关节损伤

在发生追尾事故后,由专业医护人员进行检查总是很重要的,这样你就可以立即开始治疗。此外,任何伤害,症状或潜在的伤害都可以被记录下来,以备事故发生后几周病情恶化。对于医生来说,无法立即完全诊断出严重的伤害是很常见的。后续访问往往涉及到确保车祸受害者得到正确的诊断,以便他们可以开始适当的医疗。

追尾撞车可以起诉吗?

后端碰撞最初可能看起来像轻微的挡泥板弯曲,甚至可能不会对汽车造成太大的损害,但这种类型的事故仍然可以是昂贵的,并导致许多痛苦和痛苦的司机或乘客。车祸受害者往往发现自己留下了严重的伤害,工资损失,数千美元的医疗费用,和财产损失,仅举几例。虽然保险将覆盖一些损害,它可能是不够的。

在纽约州,追尾事故的责任并不总是简单明了。人身伤害律师可以帮助确定过错,以及哪个司机可以忽略不计或应该对车祸负责。受害者可以在纽约市起诉其他司机要求赔偿,但他们必须满足一个非常具体的伤害门槛。

  • 骨头骨折
  • 永久限制使用某一器官、身体部位或成员;
  • 90天以上的全残
  • 经医疗专业人员认定的严重伤害。

许多符合这一门槛的人选择对过失司机提起人身伤害诉讼,因为他们自己的保险不包括他们在车祸中遭受的损害程度。

追尾事故的过错如何认定?

确定追尾事故中的过错需要做一些工作。在处理纽约州的比较过失规则和无过失保险之后,如果受害者达到了提起人身伤害诉讼的门槛,他们就必须证明自己的过错。重要的是提供尽可能多的细节,以及任何形式的有形证据,如目击者,照片,车辆损坏证明,以及受伤,医疗费用和工资损失的文件。 显然,你不能回到过去,但能获得的证据越多,案件就越有力。

一旦文件被拉在一起,人身伤害律师可以工作,以证明其他司机的疏忽,这导致了追尾事故。在事故现场拍摄的警方报告将是对肇事司机的主要证据。

起诉对方司机的诉讼时效是什么?

在纽约州,车祸受害者自车祸发生之日起有三年时间提起人身伤害诉讼。一旦过了三年,就失去了提起诉讼的权利。这是在纽约的民事实践法律和规则第214条下概述的,是非常具体的。这个规则有一个例外,那就是如果你的车祸和伤害之间的联系在以后的日期,三年的时钟将开始在该日期。但是,作为受害方,要想获得这个,你必须要有足够的文件来证明资格。

纽约市车祸律师免费咨询。

Raphaelson & Levine律师事务所,我们以"伤者之声"的美誉而自豪。30多年来,我们的律师代表了布朗克斯,布鲁克林,曼哈顿,皇后区,史坦顿岛,长岛和周边县的受害者。我们纽约市的车祸律师已经帮助成千上万的人前进后遭受的影响,追尾或其他类型的车祸。

如果您或您的亲人遭遇车祸,另一名机动车司机追尾您的汽车,请致电212-268-3222,或立即在线联系我们,进行免费律师咨询。我们将努力确保您的伤害和痛苦得到公正和公平的赔偿。


屡获殊荣的律师事务所

Located near Penn Station in New York, NY, our law firm serves Nassau County, Rockland County, Suffolk County, Westchester and all of New York State, including the five boroughs of NYC: Bronx, Brooklyn, Queens, Manhattan, and Staten Island.
查看所有奖项

New York Rear-End Accident Lawyer

Car accidents are unfortunately a realistic aspect of life in New York City with hundreds of thousands of accidents occurring every year. While some accidents are preventable, many times negligent drivers cause these crashes.

Rear-end accidents are the most common type of automobile collision. According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), rear-end car accidents account for about 29% of all car crashes in the U.S. 

The personal injury attorneys at Raphaelson & Levine have been representing New York City car accident victims for more than 30 years. We believe victims should have a voice and our car accident lawyers do everything they can to ensure victims receive justice and fair compensation for their injuries and suffering. If you’ve been injured due to a rear-end car accident, call our law firm at 212-268-3222 or complete our online contact form.

What Constitutes a Rear-end Collision?

A rear-end collision occurs when one vehicle slams into another from behind. It can happen when stopped at a stop sign, traffic light, waiting to make a turn, or even when actively driving. The impact of being hit from behind by another motorist can be severe, especially if the car or truck was traveling at high speed. Other factors determining the severity of a rear-end collision include the size of the vehicles involved, car safety features, and whether vehicle occupants were wearing their seatbelts.

Causes of Rear-end Collisions and Determining Fault

Rear-end collisions can happen in many ways. Distracted driving is at the top of the list of behaviors that lead to this type of crash. Distracted driving includes cellphone use, texting, web surfing, putting on makeup, eating, drinking, daydreaming, and adjusting the radio or climate controls. It also includes fatigue and emotional conditions (i.e. “road rage”). When drivers aren’t giving the road their full attention, it sets the conditions for a crash.

Other common causes include:

Aggressive Driving and Speeding

Impatient drivers often engage in tailgating when following slower cars and, if the front car has to abruptly stop, the rear driver often doesn’t have time to fully apply their brakes because they weren't traveling at a safe distance.

Reckless Driving

Drivers who are speeding, weaving in and out of lanes, or illegally passing cars can increase the risk of rear-ending another driver because they aren’t practicing safe driving.

Intoxication or Under the Influence of a Substance

Drivers who have consumed alcohol or used drugs are often impaired and use poor judgment when driving, this increases the risk of a rear-end collision.

These are some of the most common contributors to rear-end collisions. It is assumed the rear car driver is always at fault – and is true in most cases – but sometimes fault can be fully or partially placed on the other driver (i.e. a brake light may be out or they stop short unexpectedly). New York State defers to a pure comparative negligence rule which means both parties can be assigned a percentage of fault in any car accident.

Since New York State is also a no-fault insurance state, things can get tricky in the aftermath of a crash. Many accident claims are initially denied by insurance companies. A car accident attorney is your best ally when dealing with an insurance company because they can fight for insurance companies to pay what they should to car accident victims.

Common Injuries in Rear-end Crashes

People who have suffered through a rear-end crash may not initially realize the severity of their injuries because symptoms may not be immediately apparent. Sometimes injuries initially seem minor, but the pain and symptoms can worsen over the days or weeks following the accident. Common injuries from rear-end crashes include:

After a rear-end crash, it’s always important to be examined by a healthcare professional so you can start treatment immediately. Additionally, any injuries, symptoms, or potential injuries can be documented in the event a condition worsens weeks after the accident occurs. It’s not uncommon for a doctor to be unable to fully diagnose a serious injury immediately. Follow-up visits are often involved to ensure car accident victims receive a correct diagnosis so they can begin proper medical treatment.

Can You Sue for a Rear-end Collision?

Rear-end crashes may initially seem like minor fender benders that might not even do much damage to a car, but this type of accident can still be costly and result in much pain and suffering to drivers or passengers. Car accident victims often find themselves left with serious injuries, lost wages, thousands of dollars in medical bills, and property damage, to name a few. While insurance will cover some damages, it may not be enough.

Liability in a rear-end crash isn’t always straightforward in New York State. A personal injury attorney can help determine fault and which driver was negligible or should be liable for the crash. Victims can sue other drivers for damages in New York City, but they have to meet a very specific injury threshold.

  • Bone fracture(s)
  • Permanent limitations on the use of an organ, body part, or member
  • Full disability for more than 90 days
  • Serious injury as determined by a medical professional.

Many people who meet this threshold opt to file a personal injury lawsuit against the negligent driver because their own insurance doesn’t cover the extent of the damage they’ve suffered in an auto accident.

What Determines Fault in Rear-ended Accident?

Determining fault in a rear-end accident will take some work. After dealing with New York State’s comparative negligence rule and no-fault insurance, if a victim meets the threshold to file a personal injury lawsuit, they’ll have to prove fault. It’s important to provide as much detail as possible, along with any forms of tangible proof, such as eyewitnesses, photos, proof of vehicle damage, and documentation of injuries, medical expenses, and lost wages.  Clearly, you can’t go back in time, but the more evidence that can be obtained, the stronger a case will be.

Once documentation is pulled together, a personal injury lawyer can work to demonstrate the negligence of the other driver which led to the rear-end crash. The police report taken at the scene of the accident will be a primary piece of evidence against the at-fault driver.

What is the Statute of Limitations to Sue the Other Driver?

In New York State, car accident victims have three years from the date of the crash to file a personal injury lawsuit. Once three years passes, the right to initiate a lawsuit is lost. This is outlined under New York’s Civil Practice Laws and Rules Section 214 and is very specific. There is one exception to this rule and that is if you make the connection between your car accident and injury at a later date, the three-year clock will start on that date. However, to obtain this, as the injured party, you have to have enough documentation to prove eligibility.

Free Consultation With a New York City Car Accident Lawyer

At Raphaelson & Levine Law Firm we take pride in our reputation as being the “Voice of the Injured.” For over 30 years, our attorneys have represented victims in The Bronx, Brooklyn, Manhattan, Queens, Staten Island, Long Island, and surrounding counties. Our NYC car accident attorneys have helped thousands of people move forward after suffering the effects of a rear-end or another type of car crash.

If you, or a loved one, suffered a car accident where another motor vehicle driver rear-ended your car, call us at 212-268-3222 or contact us online today for a free lawyer consultation. We’ll work hard to ensure you receive justice and fair compensation for your injuries and suffering.


Award-Winning Law Firm

Located near Penn Station, our law firm serves Nassau County, Rockland County, Suffolk County, Westchester and all other cities and counties in New York, including the five boroughs of New York City: Bronx, Brooklyn, Queens, Manhattan, and Staten Island.
View all our Awards