过失致死律师

处理失去亲人的问题可能是你生命中最困难的时刻之一。虽然大多数人没有想到这一点,但每个人每天都面临着成为疏忽的受害者的风险。不幸的是,别人的疏忽可能会导致即使是最了解和最小心的人的错误死亡。当这种情况发生时,受害者的家庭往往要承受精神上的痛苦以及突如其来的经济损失。

Raphaelson & Levine的曼哈顿过失致死律师可以帮助您了解您在失去家人后的法律选择。我们将争取为您提供结束、赔偿和争取正义的有力声音。

如果您因司机、主管、医疗专业人员或市政府的疏忽而失去了亲人,我们邀请您今天就联系我们进行免费咨询,或拨打212-268-3222

理解纽约的过失致死索赔

当亲人因另一方的过失而死亡时,受害者的遗产有理由对过失方提起诉讼。家庭成员和其他受益人可能有权获得赔偿。幸运的是,根据纽约的过失致死法规,这种经济损失可以通过提出过失致死索赔得到补偿。

这类诉讼的目的是赔偿死者直系亲属和受抚养人因死者死亡造成的经济损失。只有在被害人因个人(或公司)的过失而死亡的情况下,才可提起过失致死诉讼,这在机动车事故、建筑事故、医疗事故和滑倒事故中经常出现。

单纯的金钱永远无法替代你所失去的东西。但在我们的社会中,错误的死亡诉讼是为死者伸张正义和为亲人了结的手段。它还可以在未来拯救生命,并使他人免受你所承受的痛苦。

Raphaelson & Levine律师事务所在过失致死案件中拥有丰富的经验。我们经验丰富的错误死亡律师在致命车祸、建筑事故、危险设计的产品、飞机事故、医疗事故和其他过失行为(如没有确保感染冠状病毒的员工得到适当保护)中提供以结果为导向的代表。

在这种情况下,我们的第一步是确定一名遗产代表,并获得诉讼授权。从这一点来说,我们做了所有的工作,家庭成员有他们需要的时间来悲伤和恢复。由于我们对处理的案件有选择性,我们能够专注于失去亲人的家庭的需求。我们认识到,死亡案件--以及随之而来的悲伤--不同于其他人身伤害事故,我们将始终以最大的资源和最高的专业水平处理这类案件的所有方面。

纽约过失致死法规

根据普通法,不存在错误死亡索赔,而是由纽约的错误死亡法规来管理。在纽约州,死者的家庭成员自己不提起诉讼,相反,法律要求由死者遗产的个人代表代表其受益人 -- -- 有资格获得损害赔偿的家庭成员 -- -- 提出非正常死亡索赔。

如果判给损害赔偿金,则将其分配给受益人。一般来说,纽约法律将赔偿限制在死者的配偶和未成年子女身上。但是,其他家庭成员可能有资格获得赔偿,条件是他们能够证明自己在经济上依赖死者。

在纽约的过失死亡索赔赔偿

与其他一些州不同的是,纽约不允许受益人对其遭受的非经济损失进行赔偿,如疼痛和痛苦、精神痛苦或失去死者的陪伴。相反,非正常死亡法只允许受益人收回其金钱损失,如:

  • 医疗账单
  • 丧葬费用
  • 死者的服务和支持的价值。
  • 继承权的丧失
  • 遗属收入损失

除上述损失外,惩罚性损害赔偿 -- -- 如果对死者死亡负责的一方的行为是轻率的、故意的或蓄意的,则可以追回惩罚性损害赔偿 -- -- 这种损害赔偿不是基于遭受的损失,而是为了惩罚过失方而存在的。

在免费咨询中,律师可以审查您的案件并讨论我们如何帮助您。我们位于曼哈顿的过失致死律师代表着整个纽约市(布朗克斯区、布鲁克林区、曼哈顿区、皇后区)、长岛、史坦顿岛和大哈德逊谷失去亲人的家庭和个人。

与曼哈顿错误死亡律师讨论您的法律选择。

如果您的亲人因他人的粗心或疏忽行为而受到致命伤害,寻求有经验的过失致死律师的建议非常重要。我们熟练的伤害律师将帮助您了解纽约的错误死亡法规,并可以讨论纽约法律下的下一步措施。

我们公司将努力确保您的不当死亡索赔有尽可能大的成功机会。若要安排纽约地区的错误死亡案件的免费咨询,请填写联系表或致电212-268-3222。

屡获殊荣的律师事务所

Located near Penn Station in New York, NY, our law firm serves Nassau County, Rockland County, Suffolk County, Westchester and all of New York State, including the five boroughs of NYC: Bronx, Brooklyn, Queens, Manhattan, and Staten Island.
查看所有奖项
申请免费律师咨询
被医疗费、工资损失、疼痛和痛苦所压倒?不要与保险公司达成和解,因为这比你应得的更少,我们可以帮助你。
除非我们赢了,否则不收任何费用
7亿美元的判决和和解金
60分钟内得到回复

New York City Wrongful Death Attorney

Home>New York City Wrongful Death Attorney
New York City Wrongful Death Attorney 2017-07-29T22:21:07+00:00

Easing The Financial Loss Caused By A Loved One’s Death

Although most people do not think about it, everyone faces the risk of falling victim to negligence on a day-to-day basis. Unfortunately, someone else’s negligence can, at virtually anytime, result in the death of even the most aware and careful person. When this happens, the person’s family is often left with emotional suffering as well as sudden financial losses.

When someone dies due to the negligence of another party, the estate of the victim has a cause of action against the negligent party. Family members and other estate beneficiaries may be entitled to obtain compensation. Fortunately, under New York law, such financial losses can be recovered by filing a wrongful death lawsuit. The purpose of this type of lawsuit is to compensate the decedent’s immediate family members and dependents for economic losses resulting from the decedent’s death. Wrongful death lawsuits may be filed only in instances where the decedent was killed by the negligence of a person (or company), which is often the case in motor vehicle accidents, construction accidents, medical malpractice and slip-and-falls.

Wrongful Death Lawsuits In New York

Money alone can never replace what you have lost. But in our society, a wrongful death lawsuit is the means for obtaining justice for the deceased and closure for loved ones. It can also save lives in the future and spare others what you have had to endure.

The Raphaelson & Levine Law Firm has extensive experience in wrongful death cases. We provide results-oriented representation in fatal accident cases involving car accidents, construction accidents, dangerously designed products, airplane accidents, medical malpractice and other acts of negligence.

In such cases, our first step is to identify a representative of the estate and obtain authorization for a lawsuit. From that point on, we do all of the work and family members have the time they need to grieve and recover. Because we are selective in the cases we handle, we are able to focus on the needs of families who have lost loved ones. We recognize that a death case — and the sadness that comes with it — is unlike other personal injury accidents, and we will always handle all aspects of this type of case with the greatest resources and the highest level of professionalism.

Eligibility To File And Recover

Since wrongful death lawsuits did not exist under the common law, they are governed by statute. Under New York law, the decedent’s family members themselves do not file the lawsuit. Instead, the law requires the lawsuit to be brought by the personal representative of the decedent’s estate on behalf of his or her beneficiaries-family members that are eligible to recover damages.

If damages are awarded in the wrongful death lawsuit, they are distributed to the beneficiaries. In general, New York law limits recovery to the decedent’s spouse and minor children. However, other family members may be eligible to recover, provided that they can prove their financial dependence on the deceased.

What May Be Recovered In A Wrongful Death Claim?

Unlike some other states, New York does not permit beneficiaries to recover for the noneconomic losses that they suffer, such as pain and suffering, emotional anguish or the loss of the decedent’s companionship. Instead, the law only allows beneficiaries to recover their monetary losses such as:

  • Medical bills
  • Funeral and burial expenses
  • The value of the deceased’s services and support
  • Loss of inheritance
  • Loss of decedent’s income

In addition to the above losses, punitive damages-damages that are not based on a loss suffered, but exist to punish the negligent party-may be recovered if the conduct of the party responsible for the decedent’s death was reckless, willful or intentional.

In a free consultation, an attorney can review your case and discuss how we can help you. Our law firm represents people throughout the New York City area, Long Island and the Hudson Valley.

Discuss Your Options With A New York City Wrongful Death Attorney, Call 212-268-3222

If your loved one has been fatally injured due to another’s careless or negligent behavior, it is important to seek the advice of an experienced wrongful death attorney. Our skilled injury attorneys will help you understand the New York wrongful death statute and can discuss the next steps under New York law.

Our firm will work to ensure that your wrongful death claim has the greatest possible chances of success. To schedule a free consultation about a wrongful death case in New York, please complete the contact form below or call 212-268-3222.

CONTACT US

Do you have an injury claim? Contact our personal injury law firm today to schedule a free consultation.

FREE CASE EVALUATION

SEARCH OUR WEBSITE