纽约市欺凌事件不断增加,家长如何反击?

最近的一项研究报告指出,纽约市学校的欺凌行为在过去一年中增加了10%。家长可以通过了解自己的合法权利和可以采取哪些行动来帮助制止校园欺凌行为来进行反击。

不久前,一名17岁的曼哈顿高中生踩着迎面而来的地铁列车自杀。其他学生称,她厌倦了在学校被欺负。厌倦了被称为"愚蠢、丑陋或笨拙"。学校官员没有正面处理这个问题,而是告诉学生不要讨论这个死去的女孩。据一名学生说,他们被告知,"不要谈论她或发生了什么。""一些学生说,他们实际上对自己对待她的方式感到内疚。

在另一起案件中,纽约市学校官员同意将一名10岁的学生转到新的学校,因为他告诉母亲他要自杀。这名孩子在多次被其他学生欺负后,回家后鼻子流血,眼睛发黑。这是一所小学,已经充斥着欺凌者.这只是纽约市学校系统每年发生的数千起事件中的两起。可悲的是,情况只会越来越糟。

研究报告:81%的学生认为同伴受到骚扰、欺凌或恐吓81%的学生认为同龄人受到过骚扰、欺负或恐吓。

纽约市的学校存在欺凌问题。8月,纽约市教育局公布了最近的一项研究结果,显示欺凌事件比上一学年报告的事件增加了10%。该调查基于11个关于学校经历的问题,一般来说,是向6至12年级的学生提出的。问题八要求学生根据各种因素对他们认为学生在学校被欺负的频率进行评价。

2016至2017学年的答复显示,81%的学生认为学生被欺负的时间介于很少或大多数时间之间,而另一个选择是:从不。对于上一学年,只有71%的学生表达了这种看法。这两年的抽样规模大致相同。

教育部认为,这两年的调查不能进行比较,因为所问的问题并不相同。进一步认为,虽然每年问的问题都是相同的,但回答说在学校感到安全的学生比例一直没有变化。即便如此,在2017年的调查中,有65%的学生回答说,孩子们在学校里互相欺负是因为。

  • 种族
  • 宗教
  • 民族
  • 国籍
  • 公民身份或移民身份

在上一学年,只有55%的学生表示他们认为学生因为这些原因被欺负,但唯一的选择是基于种族或民族的。2017年调查中包含的其他选择并没有包含在2016年的调查中。

今年,73%的学生表示,孩子们因为体重或残疾等原因被欺负。虽然在2016年,只有46%的学生说孩子们因为这些原因被欺负,但体重和残疾是和其他选择一起被包括在内的,而不是作为独立的原因。2016年,有46%的学生表示因为他们的性别、性别认同、性别表达或性认同而受到欺负,2017年这个比例增加到59%的学生。

不幸的是,欺凌行为不会消失。如果你的孩子在学校受到欺凌,你可以采取一些措施。

纽约市家长反对学校欺凌的权利

纽约市教育局发布了一份学生/家长向当局报告欺凌事件的指南。该指南告知学生和家长应采取的主要步骤,包括:

  • 要求你的孩子提供有关任何欺凌事件的细节,包括发生过多少次,他或她对此采取了什么措施,以及孩子是否担心这种情况再次发生。
  • 联系您孩子的老师或校长。
  • 纽约州的每所学校都必须有一名"尊严法协调员",他受过处理欺凌问题的培训。请与此人联系。

如果您对您学生的老师、校长或尊严法案协调员所采取的行动不满意,您应该咨询律师,以探索您的法律选择。

对校园欺凌行为采取法律行动

你的孩子有权在一个让他或她感到安全、不受其他孩子欺负的环境中上学。如果负责提供安全学习环境的学校官员玩忽职守,你的孩子因玩忽职守而遭受身体或精神上的伤害,你可能需要采取法律行动。

在严重的疏忽或故意无动于衷的情况下,起诉校区欺凌可能是最好的手段。在Raphaelson & Levine律师事务所,我们认真对待所有关于学生欺凌的指控。如果您认为您的孩子正在被欺负,并且对您的校区的行为或不作为不满意,我们邀请您拨打212-268-3222联系我们的事务所,讨论您的法律权利

Howard Raphaelson
Howard A. Raphaelson在1992年从Benjamin N. Cardozo法学院毕业后,创立了Raphaelson & Levine Law Firm, P.C.。他的人身伤害律师事务所成立于纽约州的纽约市,他的律师事务所已经获得了许多百万美元的判决。凭借超过25年的人身伤害律师经验,他赢得了同行、法官和高层领导的信赖,包括被评为"超级律师"(汤森路透)和"纽约最佳律师"(纽约杂志)的前5%伤害律师。
查看律师资料

Bullying Is On The Rise in NYC, Here’s How Parents Can Fight Back

Last updated: May 2, 2018

A recent study reports that bullying in New York City Schools has increased 10% over the past year. Parents can fight back by knowing their legal rights and what actions they can take to help stop school bullying.

Not too long ago, a 17-year-old Manhattan high school student committed suicide by stepping in front of an oncoming subway train. Other students reported that she was tired of being bullied at school. Tired of being called “stupid, ugly or awkward.” Instead of dealing with the issue head-on, school officials told students not to discuss the dead girl. According to one student, they were told “not to talk about her or what happened.” Some students said they actually felt guilty about the way they had treated her.

In another case, New York City School officials agreed to transfer a 10-year-old student to a new school after he told his mother he was going to kill himself. The child had come home with a bloody nose and black eye after being repeatedly bullied by other students. It is elementary school and already rife with bullies.

These are just two incidents among thousands that happen every year in the New York City school system. Sadly, the situation is only getting worse.

Study: 81 Percent of Students Believe Peers Have Been Harassed, Bullied or Intimidated

New York City schools have a bully problem. In August, the New York City Department of Education (NYCDOE) published the results of a recent study showing that bullying incidents increased by 10 percent over those that were reported for the previous school year. The survey was based on 11 questions about the school experience, in general, asked of students between grades 6 and 12. Question eight asked students to rate how often they thought students were bullied at their school based on various factors.

The responses for the school year 2016 to 2017 indicated that 81 percent of students believed that students had been bullied between rarely or most of the time, as opposed to the other choice: never. For the previous school year, only 71 percent of students expressed this belief. The sampling size was approximately the same for both years.

The DOE argued that the surveys from the two years cannot be compared because the questions asked were not identical. Further arguing that while the questions asked are identical from year to year, the percentage of students who respond that they feel safe at school has stayed the same. Even so, 65 percent of the students responded to the 2017 survey by saying that kids bullied each other at school because of:

  • Race
  • Religion
  • Ethnicity
  • National origin
  • Citizenship or immigration status

For the previous school year, only 55 percent of students reported they thought students were bullied on these grounds, but the only choices were based on race or ethnicity. The other choices included in the 2017 survey were not included in the survey for 2016.

This year, 73 percent of students said kids were bullied over things like their weight or disability. Although in 2016, only 46 percent of students said kids are bullied for those reasons, weight and disability were included with other choices and not as stand alone reasons. In 2016, 46 percent reported bullying due to their gender, gender identity, gender expression or sexual identity, that percentage increased in 2017 to 59 percent of the students.

Unfortunately, bullying is not going away. If your child is being bullied at school, there are some steps you can take.

Parents Rights Against Bullying in NYC Schools

The NYCDOE publishes a student/parent guide for reporting bullying incidents to authorities. It informs students and parents of the main steps to take which include:

  • Ask your child to provide details about any bullying event, including how many times it has happened, what he or she does about it and if the child is worried about it happening again
  • Contact your child’s teacher or principal.
  • Every school in New York State is required to have a “dignity act coordinator” who is trained to handle bullying issues. Contact that person.

If you are not satisfied with the actions taken by your student’s teacher, principal or dignity act coordinator, you should consult an attorney to explore your legal options.

Taking Legal Action Against Bullying In Schools

Your child is entitled to attend school in an environment where he or she feels safe, free from the bullying by other children. If the school officials who are charged with providing a safe learning environment are negligent in their duty and your child suffers damages, either physically or emotionally as a result of the negligence, you may need to take legal action.

In serious situations of negligence or deliberate indifference, suing a school district for bullying may be the best recourse. At  Raphaelson & Levine Law Firm, we take all allegations of student bullying seriously. If you believe your child is being bullied and are unsatisfied by the actions or inaction of your school district, we invite you to contact our firm to discuss your legal rights.

FEATURED ARTICLES

Sign Up For Monthly Insights

Subscribe to receive the latest legal insights each month.
Something went wrong. Please check your entries and try again.
Share
Tweet
Pin
+1
Share