纽约市肇事逃逸律师

在纽约市的街道上遇到肇事逃逸事故是一件很可怕的事情。如果你驾驶的是汽车,你可能会受伤或因汽车损坏而被困在车内。作为行人骑自行车的人,你可能会被甩在街上。幸运的是,许多善良的纽约人会停下来帮助受伤的车祸受害者,但这并不能成为借口,也不能代替撞你的人在事故现场没有停下来或交流信息的事实。

在纽约州,任何参与肇事逃逸事故的驾车者都必须依法留在现场。不幸的是,司机并不总是做道德上正确的事情。可悲的是,从2013年到2018年,纽约市的肇事逃逸事故数量增加了26%以上。不幸的是,2019年的肇事逃逸事故也有所上升。

离开事故现场的司机不仅是在犯罪,而且是在让一个有可能受到严重伤害或伤害严重到足以导致死亡的人离开。这种行为应受到谴责,违反了纽约市的法律。 

如果你参与了肇事逃逸事故,Raphaelson & Levine律师事务所富有同情心的伤害律师将在此为你提供支持。请致电212-268-3222或填写我们的联系表格,进行免费案件评估。

纽约的肇事逃逸是如何定义的?

纽约对肇事逃逸事故的定义是:无论是否停车,离开或逃离事故现场的人。其他肇事逃逸的司机对自己撞到人的事实浑然不觉,继续开车,或者更糟糕的是,他们根本不在乎。

纽约州法律明确规定,驾车者在与事故受害者交流信息之前离开事故现场,将承担后果。如果财产受损,这被认为是违反交通规则的行为。执法部门可以开出罚单,驾照上可以加分,法院可以收取法庭费用,司机甚至可以被送进监狱。如果发生伤害或死亡,而司机已经离开事故现场,则属于刑事违法行为,可能面临更多的后果。

肇事逃逸事故后该怎么办?

如果受伤,首先要做的是就医。但是,如果可能的话,在等待执法人员或救护车到来的过程中,要做到以下几点:

  • 记下所有关于撞你的司机和车辆的细节。
  • 记录事件发生的日期和时间。
  • 如果能写下车牌号。
  • 与任何能够提供证词的证人交谈。
  • 拍照作为保险公司和法院的证据。
  • 检查您的汽车(或自行车)是否有任何油漆或其他识别细节的证据。
  • 注意任何直接的轻伤。

在事故发生时收集的任何信息都将证明是有价值的道路。在记录了细节之后,在事故现场受伤的受害者总是应该立即得到医疗,即使他们在事故发生后感觉良好。专业的医疗评估将确保他们没有受到不明显的严重伤害。这项检查还可以记录事故的发生,以备日后需要权威的文件。

肇事逃逸事故要不要请律师?

一旦寻求医疗,肇事逃逸的受害者应该打电话给一个有经验的人身伤害事故律师。纽约州是一个"无过错"的保险国家。这意味着受害者必须先向他们的汽车保险政策提出保险索赔。所有的汽车保险政策必须携带"人身伤害保护"(PIP)和"未投保的机动车驾驶员保险(UM)/未投保的机动车驾驶员保险(UIM)"保险。导航保险环境可能是复杂的,律师可以帮助确保正确地提出索赔。

如果损害金额超过了车祸受害者自己的保险公司的政策所覆盖的范围,一个熟练的车祸律师可以看看其他法律选择。如果一个特定的"伤害门槛"已经满足,在纽约市的车祸受害者有资格提出人身伤害诉讼。受害者从事故发生之日起有三年的时间来追求伤害索赔。

在肇事逃逸的情况下,诉讼是提出过失索赔的一个很好的基础,因为这些事故可以在民事和刑事法庭上审理。被告可以被指控为轻罪或重罪,这取决于所造成的损害程度。

在纽约如何确定过失?

纽约州遵循的是"纯比较过失规则",也就是说,伤者将根据百分比从保险公司获得赔偿。这意味着受害者通常会被分配到某种程度的事故"责任"。例如,如果陪审团确定一个司机是85%的过错,受害者将被分配15%。在这种情况下,受害者将有资格要求85%的赔偿,以支付他们的医疗,医疗费用,工资损失,或其他经济损失。

但是,在肇事逃逸事故中,被认定为离开事故现场的司机要严格承担赔偿责任。一旦他们离开了事故现场,就被认为是承认有罪。一个有经验的肇事逃逸事故律师可以最好地确定如何进行,并建议受害者的任何法律选择,他们可以追求,特别是如果一个严重的伤害已经发生。离开现场的车祸构成疏忽,律师可以争取确保你得到正义和赔偿。

肇事逃逸事故受害者的伤者之声。

遭受肇事逃逸的机动车事故可能是可怕的,无论你是另一个司机,行人,还是骑自行车的人。你不需要挣扎着与汽车保险公司和潜在的法院案件打交道。如果你或你的亲人,遭受身体伤害或财产损失,导致肇事逃逸事故,在Raphaelson & Levine律师事务所的车祸律师是高度了解纽约州和纽约市的交通法律。 

我们的律师拥有30年代表纽约人的经验。作为纽约市的"伤者之声",我们富有同情心的法律团队承诺将努力工作,以确保您获得正义和赔偿您所遭受的任何损失。律师与客户之间的关系对我们来说非常重要,我们承诺与您站在一起的每一步。 

请拨打Raphaelson & Levine律师事务所电话212-268-3222,或填写我们的在线联系表,与肇事逃逸事故律师交谈。我们很乐意为您提供免费咨询,并回答您可能有的关于肇事逃逸事故的任何法律咨询问题。


屡获殊荣的律师事务所

Located near Penn Station in New York, NY, our law firm serves Nassau County, Rockland County, Suffolk County, Westchester and all of New York State, including the five boroughs of NYC: Bronx, Brooklyn, Queens, Manhattan, and Staten Island.
查看所有奖项

New York City Hit & Run Attorney

Experiencing a hit and run accident on New York City streets is a terrifying event. If you were driving a car, you could have been injured or become stuck inside due to car damage. As a pedestrian or cyclist, you may have been thrown through the street. Fortunately, many kind New Yorkers will stop to help injured car accident victims, but it doesn't excuse or replace the fact the person who hit you did not bother to stop or exchange information at the scene of the accident.

Any motorist involved in a hit and run accident in the State of New York is legally required to remain on the scene. Unfortunately, drivers do not always do what’s morally right. Sadly, the number of hit and run accidents in New York City increased more than 26% from 2013 to 2018. Unfortunately, 2019 saw an uptick of hit and run accidents as well.

Drivers who leave the scene of an accident are not only committing a crime; they are leaving a person who has potentially suffered a serious injury or an injury severe enough to lead to a fatality. This action is reprehensible and against New York City law. 

If you are involved in a hit and run accident, the Raphaelson & Levine Law Firm’s compassionate injury attorneys are here to support you. Call us at 212-268-3222 or complete our contact form for a free case evaluation.

How is Hit and Run Defined in New York?

New York defines a hit and run accident as a person who leaves or flees the scene of an accident with or without stopping. Other hit-and-run drivers are oblivious to the fact they’ve hit someone and continue driving, or worse; they simply don’t care.

New York State law is clear that motorists who leave the scene of an accident before exchanging information with the accident victim will suffer consequences. If property is damaged, this is considered a traffic violation. Law enforcement can issue a ticket, points can be added to a driver’s license, courts can charge court fees, and drivers can even be remanded to prison. If an injury or fatally occurs and the driver has left the accident scene, it's a criminal violation, and additional consequences can be faced.

What to Do After a Hit and Run Accident?

The first thing to do is to seek medical attention if injured. However, if possible, while waiting for the law enforcement or ambulance to arrive, do the following:

  • Note down any details you can about the driver and vehicle that hit you.
  • Document the date and time of the incident.
  • Write down the license plate number if able.
  • Talk to any witnesses who will be able to provide a testimonial.
  • Take photos to serve as evidence to the insurance company and court.
  • Inspect your car (or bicycle) for any evidence of paint or other identifying details.
  • Note any immediate minor injuries.

Any information gathered at the time of the accident will prove to be valuable down the road. After details are documented, victims who are injured at the scene of an accident should always immediately get medical treatment even if they feel fine after an accident. A professional medical evaluation will ensure they aren’t suffering serious injuries that aren’t apparent. This exam also documents that an accident has occurred in the event authoritative documentation is necessary later.

Should I Get a Lawyer for a Hit and Run Accident?

Once medical treatment has been sought, a hit-and-run victim should call an experienced personal injury accident lawyer. New York State is a “no-fault” insurance state. This means victims have to file insurance claims with their car insurance policy first. All auto insurance policies must carry “personal injury protection” (PIP) and “uninsured motorist coverage (UM)/underinsured motorist coverage (UIM)" coverage. Navigating the insurance landscape can be complicated, and an attorney can help ensure claims are filed correctly.

If the amount of damages exceeds what a car accident victim's own insurance company's policy has coverage for, a skilled car accident attorney can look at other legal options. If a specific “injury threshold” has been met, car accident victims in NYC are eligible to file a personal injury lawsuit. Victims have three years from the date of the accident to pursue an injury claim.

In the cases of a hit and run, a lawsuit has an excellent basis for filing a claim of negligence because these accidents can be tried in both civil and criminal court. The defendant can be charged with either a misdemeanor or a felony, depending on the level of damages incurred.

How is Fault Determined in New York?

The State of New York follows a “pure comparative negligence rule,” which means the injured person will receive compensation from an insurance company based on a percentage. This means a victim is typically assigned some level of “blame” for an accident. For instance, if a jury determines a driver is 85% at fault, the victim will be assigned 15%. In this situation, the victim would be eligible to claim 85% of compensation to cover their medical treatment, medical bills, lost wages, or other financial losses.

However, in hit and run accidents, drivers identified as leaving the accident scene are held strictly liable for damages. Once they’ve left the accident scene, it's considered to be an admission of guilt. An experienced hit and run accident lawyer can best determine how to proceed and advise victims of any legal options they can pursue, especially if a serious injury has occurred. Leaving the scene of a car accident constitutes negligence, and an attorney can fight to ensure you receive justice and compensation.

The Voice of the Injured for Hit and Run Accident Victims

Suffering a hit-and-run motor vehicle accident can be scary, whether you’re another driver, a pedestrian, or a cyclist. You don’t need to struggle to deal with car insurance companies and potentially a court case. If you, or a loved one, suffered physical harm or property damage that resulted from a hit and run accident, the car accident lawyers at the Raphaelson & Levine law firm are highly knowledgeable about New York State and NYC traffic laws. 

Our attorneys have 30 years of experience representing New Yorkers. As NYC’s “Voice of the Injured,” our compassionate legal team promises to work hard to ensure you receive justice and compensation for any losses you’ve suffered. The attorney-client relationship is very important to us, and we promise to stand with you every step of the way. 

Call the Raphaelson & Levine law firm today at 212-268-3222 or complete our online contact form to speak with a hit and run accident lawyer. We’re happy to provide you with a free consultation and answer any legal advice questions you may have about your hit and run accident.


Award-Winning Law Firm

Located near Penn Station, our law firm serves Nassau County, Rockland County, Suffolk County, Westchester and all other cities and counties in New York, including the five boroughs of New York City: Bronx, Brooklyn, Queens, Manhattan, and Staten Island.
View all our Awards