纽约致命车祸律师

在重伤的车祸中幸存下来,可以说是毁灭性的,但当结果是你所关心的人的死亡时,那是不可想象的。可悲的是,每年在纽约市街头发生的超过228,000起车祸中,都有许多人受伤和死亡。每一次严重的伤害或非正常死亡,受害者的家庭都会在致命车祸后留下巨大的精神痛苦和突如其来的经济损失。

应对致命车祸后失去亲人的情况,是最具挑战性的事件之一。尤其是当事故发生的原因是由于他人的粗心、非法或过失驾驶造成的。如果你遭受了亲人的悲惨损失,Raphaelson & Levine律师事务所的错误死亡律师将帮助你了解你的法律选择。今天就联系我们进行免费咨询,或拨打212-268-3222。

纽约的车祸死亡人数

纽约市的致命车祸在经历了几年的下降之后,不幸的是正在上升。在2019年的年末,众多媒体报道公布的数据强调,2019年全市范围内与交通相关的死亡事故数量有所增加。以下是纽约州和纽约市的其他一些致命事故相关统计数据。

  • 2019年纽约市机动车事故死亡219人,比上年的198人有所增加。
  • 在纽约市,行人和骑车人是交通事故中最常见的受害者。
  • 纽约全州最近的数据显示,每年有1 098人死于与机动车有关的意外伤害。
  • 包括车祸在内的事故是纽约州第三大死亡原因。

纽约市在2014年实施了"零愿景"计划,6年来,交通事故死亡人数有所下降。去年,纽约市的街道对纽约人来说仍比往年安全,但最近死亡人数的增加令人担忧。

致命车祸的常见原因

没有人计划陷入车祸,致命的汽车事故通常是无意的。不幸的是,现实是许多驾车者从事粗心,不注意,和不稳定的行为,可以导致严重的事故。

分心驾驶是美国致命车祸的头号原因。每年约有2,800人因分心驾驶相关行为而丧生,包括打电话、发短信、使用应用程序、设置GPS和使用社交媒体/互联网。

纽约致命车祸的其他常见原因包括:

虽然这些都是一些最常见的导致严重汽车事故的行为,但任何无意或故意不遵守交通法规的行为都可能导致机动车死亡。这些行为大多可以在驾驶时轻松避免。选择做这些行为的机动车驾驶人都是过失行为。

致命车祸的类型

除了驾驶员的行为,车祸的类型也直接影响到死亡事故发生的风险。在纽约市,常见的车祸类型有。

车辆侧翻

车辆侧翻是一种非常严重的车祸,当汽车翻到其侧面或车顶时就会发生。与其他类型的机动车碰撞相比,翻车往往导致更多的死亡。

迎面撞车

当两辆汽车的前端,从相反的方向驶来,直接撞上对方,或者说是"迎面撞上"时,就会发生正面碰撞。这些事故往往很严重,特别是在速度是一个因素的情况下。

读取端碰撞

当一辆车从后面撞上另一辆车时,就会发生读尾碰撞。司机分心、高速行驶、追尾和恶劣的天气条件都是导致追尾事故发生的原因。

T-bone碰撞

T型骨碰撞是指一辆车的前端碰撞到另一辆车的侧面。这些碰撞通常发生在停车场和十字路口。由于碰撞的直接影响,许多此类事故不幸导致死亡。

单车事故

许多机动车事故涉及一辆车。车祸可能与驾驶员有关,但其他并发症,如车辆缺陷、道路状况、道路维护不善、道路设计不当等,都可能是导致另一方疏忽的原因。

如果你的亲人已经参与了这些事故或其他类型的致命车祸,必须尽快与人身伤害律师交谈。在纽约州,所有的驾车者都必须进行汽车保险,但保险金额可能有限,损失超过保险单。律师可以研究这种情况,并确定是否有理由提起过失致死诉讼。

提起过失致死诉讼

家庭成员留下的痛苦在致命的车祸后,确实有法律追索权,可以帮助他们恢复失去的收入,谋生能力,和财务支持。一个错误的死亡诉讼也可以帮助支付丧葬费用,并覆盖任何医疗费用积累的事故伤害,导致死亡。这就是所谓的错误死亡诉讼。

纽约州的非正常死亡索赔受纽约非正常死亡法规管辖。这意味着,死者的家庭成员不能直接提起诉讼,必须由死者遗产的个人代表代表任何家庭成员/受益人提出法律索赔。任何赔偿金都将分配给受害者的配偶和未成年子女。如果其他家庭成员能够证明在经济上依赖死者,则有一个例外。

纽约的诉讼时效是什么?

纽约州对过失致死诉讼规定了时效。对于汽车事故,必须在事故发生之日起三年内提出索赔,但对于过失致人死亡的诉讼,纽约州将提出索赔的能力限制为两年。重要的是要记住,车祸受害者可能在事故现场被宣布死亡,或者他们可能在以后的日子里屈服于伤害。

发生事故后,即使自己的保险公司已经办理了保险理赔,家属也要尽快咨询人身伤害律师。其他司机的保险公司通常会迅速启动事故索赔程序。请记住,肇事司机的保险公司要保护自己的利益,而不是受害者在亲人死亡后留下的痛苦。

纽约州的过失致死诉讼仅限于经济损失,因此,必须精心组织法律案件。家庭成员将希望并需要有人在他们身边为他们提供法律代表,并在合理怀疑的情况下证明其亲人的损失涉及过失。 

惩罚性赔偿可以在错误死亡诉讼中获得,但必须证明肇事司机是故意或鲁莽行事。熟练的车祸律师将收集证据,与证人交谈,获得警方报告,并收集任何医疗或治疗的文件。 

致命车祸责任谁来承担?

与驾驶有关的过失行为通常是可以预防的。肇事司机可以也应该对其非法、鲁莽或不安全行为造成的悲惨结果负责。然而,有时致命车祸的责任方可能是制造商或其他造成事故的过错方。没有多少钱可以代替亲人的损失,但有经验的律师可以帮助家庭成员度过这个困难的过程,并帮助保护他们的合法权益。

致命车祸律师免费咨询。

如果你的亲人因粗心、鲁莽或疏忽行为而受到致命伤害,Raphaelson & Levine律师事务所经验丰富的人身伤害律师可以提供帮助。我们的律师将在法律程序中为您提供帮助,并承诺在这一困难时期致力于保护您的家人。25年多来,我们的律师在致命车祸案件、车祸索赔方面有着丰富的经验,对纽约的过失致死法规有很深的了解,并赢得了许多人身伤害案件。

Raphaelson & Levine法律团队高度重视律师与客户之间的关系。我们的目标是确保你的家庭得到保护,并能得到结束和赔偿,以弥补任何经济损失。若要安排一次免费的过失死亡案件评估,请联系或致电我们的纽约律师事务所,电话:212-268-3222。

屡获殊荣的律师事务所

Located near Penn Station in New York, NY, our law firm serves Nassau County, Rockland County, Suffolk County, Westchester and all of New York State, including the five boroughs of NYC: Bronx, Brooklyn, Queens, Manhattan, and Staten Island.
查看所有奖项

New York Fatal Car Accident Lawyer

Surviving a car accident with severe injuries can be devastating enough, but when the result is the fatality of someone you care about, it is unthinkable. Sadly, every year, many injuries and fatalities occur on New York City streets in the more than 228,000 auto accidents occurring each year. With each serious injury or wrongful death, the victim’s families are left in the wake of the fatal car accident with great emotional suffering and sudden financial losses.

Coping with the loss of a loved one after a fatal car crash can be one of the most challenging events to survive. Especially if the reason the accident occurred was due to another person’s careless, unlawful, or negligent driving. If you’ve suffered the tragic loss of a loved one, the wrongful death attorneys at the Raphaelson & Levine law firm will help you understand your legal options. Contact us today for a free consultation or call 212-268-3222.

Car Accidents Fatalities in New York

After seeing a decline for several years, fatal car accidents in New York City are unfortunately on the rise. At year’s end in 2019, numerous media reports published data highlighting the citywide number of traffic-related fatalities increased in 2019. Here are some other fatal accident-related statistics for both New York State and New York City.

  • 219 people died in NYC motor vehicle accidents in 2019, up from 198 the previous year.
  • Pedestrians and cyclists are most often the victims of traffic fatalities in NYC.
  • Most recently available New York statewide data shows 1,098 deaths occur due to unintentional motor vehicle-related injuries each year.
  • Accidents, including car crashes, are the third leading cause of death in New York State.

NYC implemented the Vision Zero initiative in 2014, and for six years, traffic fatalities declined. Last year, NYC’s streets were still safer than previous years for New Yorkers, but the recent increase in fatalities is concerning.

Common Causes of Deadly Car Accidents

No one plans to get into a car accident, and deadly auto accidents are usually unintentional. Unfortunately, the reality is many motorists engage in careless, inattentive, and erratic behaviors that can lead to a serious accident.

Distracted driving is the number one cause of deadly car accidents in the United States. Approximately 2,800 people each year are killed due to distracted driving-related behaviors, including phone calls, texting, using apps, setting GPS, and using social media/internet.

Other common causes of deadly car accidents in New York include:

While these are some of the most common behaviors that lead to serious auto accidents, any unintentional or deliberate disobedience of traffic laws can lead to a motor vehicle fatality. Most of these behaviors can be easily avoided while driving. Motorists who choose to do them are acting negligently.

Types of Fatal Car Accident Crashes

Along with driver behaviors, the type of car accident has a direct impact on the risk of a fatality occurring. In NYC, common types of car crashes are:

Vehicle Rollover

A vehicle rollover is a very serious type of car accident and occurs when a car tips over onto its side or roof. Rollovers tend to result in more fatalities than other types of motor vehicle collisions.

Head-On Collision

A head-on collision occurs when the front ends of two cars, coming from opposite directions, hit each other directly, or “head-on.” These accidents are often serious, especially if speed is a factor.

Read-End Collision

A read-end collision occurs when one vehicle hits another from behind. Driver distraction, high speed, tailgating, and poor weather conditions are contributors to rear-end accident occurrences.

T-bone Collisions

A T-bone collision is when the front end of one vehicle collides into another vehicle’s side. These crashes commonly occur in parking lots and at intersections. Due to the direct impact of the crash, many of these sadly result in fatalities.

Single Car Accidents

Many motor vehicle accidents involve a single car. The crash could be driver-related, but other complications, such as a vehicle defect, road conditions, poor road maintenance, and poor road designs, could be contributors leading to another party’s negligence.

If a loved one has been involved in one of these accidents or another type of fatal car collision, it’s essential to speak with a personal injury lawyer as soon as possible. All motorists are required to carry auto insurance coverage in New York State, but the amount of the policy may be limited, with losses exceeding the insurance policy. An attorney can examine the situation and determine if there are grounds for a wrongful death lawsuit.

Filing a Wrongful Death Suit

Family members left suffering in the aftermath of a fatal car accident do have legal recourse that can help them recover lost income, earning capacity, and financial support. A wrongful death suit can also help pay for funeral expenses and cover any medical expenses accumulated from an accident injury that resulted in a fatality. This is called a wrongful death suit.

New York State's wrongful death claims are governed by a New York wrongful death statute. This means, a decedent’s family member cannot directly file a lawsuit, a legal claim must be filed by the personal representative of the decedent’s estate on behalf of any family members/beneficiaries. Any damages awarded are then distributed to the victim’s spouse and minor children. There is an exception if other family members can prove financial dependence on the decedent.

What are the Statutes of Limitations in NY?

The State of New York imposes a statute of limitations on wrongful death lawsuits. For automobile accidents, a claim must be filed within three years from the date of an accident, but for wrongful death lawsuits, New York limits the ability to file to two years. It’s important to remember, a car accident victim might be pronounced dead at the scene of an accident, or they may succumb to injuries at a later date.

Families want to consult with a personal injury attorney as soon as possible after an accident, even if their own insurance company has processed an insurance policy claim. The other drivers' insurance company will typically start the accident claim process quickly. Remember, the at-fault driver’s insurance company is going to protect their own interests, and not the victims left suffering in the aftermath of their loved one’s death.

Wrongful death lawsuits in NYS are limited to economic losses, so a legal case must be carefully structured. Family members will want and need someone by their side to provide them with legal representation and prove beyond reasonable doubt negligence was involved in the loss of their loved one. 

Punitive damages may be awarded in wrongful death lawsuits but must be proved the at-fault driver acted intentionally or with recklessness. A skilled car accident attorney will gather evidence, talk to witnesses, obtain the police report, and collect documentation of any medical care or treatment. 

Who is Held Liable for a Fatal Car Crash?

Negligent acts associated with driving are generally preventable. At-fault drivers can and should be held accountable for the tragic results stemming from their unlawful, reckless, or unsafe behaviors. However, sometimes the party liable for a fatal crash may be a manufacturer or other at-fault party that contributed to the cause of the accident. No amount of money will replace the loss of a loved one, but an experienced lawyer can help family members get through this difficult process and help protect their legal rights.

Free Consultation with a Fatal Car Accident Lawyer

If your loved one was fatally injured due to a careless, reckless, or negligent act, the experienced personal injury attorneys at the Raphaelson & Levine law firm can help. Our lawyers will be your voice during the legal process and promise to dedicate themselves to protecting your family during this difficult time. For more than 25 years, our attorneys have extensive experience with fatal car accident cases, car accident claims, and are highly knowledgeable about New York’s wrongful death statute and have won many personal injury cases.

The Raphaelson & Levine legal team places a high value on the attorney-client relationship. It is our goal to ensure your family is protected and can receive closure and compensation to cover any financial losses. To schedule a wrongful death case free evaluation, please contact or call our New York law office at 212-268-3222.

Award-Winning Law Firm

Located near Penn Station in New York, NY, our law firm serves Nassau County, Rockland County, Suffolk County, Westchester and all of New York State, including the five boroughs of NYC: Bronx, Brooklyn, Queens, Manhattan, and Staten Island.
View all our Awards