布朗克斯卡车事故律师

卡车事故的情况下,涉及半卡车,垃圾车,运货卡车,或其他大型车辆类型,造成严重的伤害和非正常死亡比汽车事故涉及较小的车辆更经常。伤害的严重性和死亡的可能性增加,由于商业卡车的大小和重量相比,一个较小的机动车。 

当满载时,一辆牵引车的重量可以达到乘用车重量的30倍。在碰撞过程中,卡车司机周围的数吨金属可以保护他或她免受严重伤害,而纽约市地区的其他司机则首当其冲。除了卡车事故案件中严重受伤或死亡的风险外,这些人身伤害索赔可能具有挑战性。 

不要拖延联系卡车事故律师,以帮助您的案件。

虽然在您看来,卡车司机造成了您受伤的事故,但事实可能并非如此。例如,他们的主管可能已经威胁终止,如果司机拒绝工作,而疲劳或运输一个超大的负载。卡车的机械师或制造商也可能有过失行为。 

作为Raphaelson & Levine的客户,你可以放心,在我们的律师事务所的伤害律师将立即开始调查你的卡车事故案件。确定责任是一个关键和耗时的第一步,在人身伤害诉讼过程中。我们将我们的时间和资源投入到确定事故是如何发生的,以及谁承担的责任,因为我们要追究各方的责任。 

我们的卡车事故律师也非常自豪地代表我们的客户获得最大的赔偿。我们对卡车司机和卡车公司必须遵循的众多法律有深入的了解,根据联邦汽车运输安全管理局的指导方针。请今天联系Raphaelson & Levine律师事务所,安排时间对您的卡车事故案件进行免费审查。您可以拨打212-268-3222联系我们

卡车事故案例的常见类型

私人机动车和商业卡车之间的事故可能发生的各种原因,但一些原因是比别人更常见。我们的卡车事故律师已经注意到下面描述的事故类型发生在我们多年的经验,代表卡车事故受害者最。

溢出的货物造成的事故

将货物装入商用卡车的人必须用捆绑物充分固定货物,不要将超过重量限制的货物装入车内。运送汽油或其他易燃液体的油罐车必须有适当的安全措施,以避免危险的泄漏。这类卡车事故案件中,往往会有多名受害者因接触有毒物质或因卡车司机泄漏货物而在路上堆积。 

正面碰撞

When a bus or big rig driver loses control of the vehicle, they can easily cross the center line and crash head-on into another vehicle. Head-on collisions are serious accidents that can cause immediate death or serious injuries expected to last for life. If you have lost a loved one to wrongful death or have permanent injuries caused by a large truck, please don't hesitate to contact Raphaelson & Levine at 212-268-3222.

杰克刀事故

半卡车配备了一个牵引车,牵引车与拖车相连。拖车在转弯时根据驾驶员的转弯情况进行旋转和弯曲。没有经验的卡车司机经常会犯一个错误,就是刹车太猛,导致牵引车打滑,也就是所谓的千斤顶。失控的挂车可能会撞上其他车辆,甚至完全从牵引车上脱落,继续行驶,直到撞上其他车辆。

后方碰撞

根据联邦机动车运输安全管理局的规定,牵引车司机在以每小时65英里的速度行驶时,至少需要200码的距离才能让卡车停下来。这比机动车司机防止追尾碰撞所需的空间要大得多。正因为如此,卡车司机更容易造成追尾碰撞,导致正前方行驶车辆的司机或乘客严重受伤。

翻车事故

垃圾车、水泥车、自卸车等顶重商用卡车往往最容易造成翻车事故。卡车司机在驾驶顶重商用卡车时,造成翻车事故的最大风险来自于没有降低车速以安全地绕过弯道。

無論你與商用卡車的車禍是如何發生的,Raphaelson & Levine都會幫你提起人身傷害訴訟,以獲得你應得的賠償。如果你厭倦了未支付的醫療費用和無法工作,同時也在處理嚴重受傷的痛苦,請致電212-268-3222聯絡Raphaelson & Levine。我们将在您的免费案件评估中指导您如何向责任方提出人身伤害索赔。

布朗克斯卡车事故的原因

联邦汽车运输安全管理局指出,商用卡车司机超速行驶是造成事故的主要原因。卡车司机的其他行为可能导致车祸,包括:

分心驾驶

商业卡车司机每周可以驾驶数千英里。像任何其他司机一样,他们可能会感到无聊,并开始关注比道路更多的分心。这可能包括在开车时用手持智能手机发短信或通话,在车轮后面吃饱饭或只是做白日梦。因为大型卡车需要更多的时间来停止,哪怕是几秒钟的分心也会造成严重的卡车事故伤害。

疲劳驾驶

联邦汽车运输安全管理局执行服务时间规定,以确保卡车司机在驾驶前得到充分的休息。虽然卡车公司知道服务时数的规定,但管理人员可能会强迫员工在疲劳时驾驶大卡车,或放弃强制性的休息时间。这种不负责任的决定可能会造成悲剧性的结果,导致他人的误杀或重伤。 

醉酒驾驶和酒后驾驶。

在卡车行业,血液中的药物含量不安全的情况下开车,远比饮酒后开车更常见。卡车事故最常发生的情况是司机服用了有助于保持清醒的药物,如甲基苯丙胺、可卡因或其他兴奋剂。尽管经常对卡车司机进行测试,但这些违规行为仍然以惊人的规律发生。另一个人的药物问题不应该造成你的严重伤害。我们律师事务所的纽约卡车事故律师将为您追求正义。请今天联系我们,电话:212-268-3222。

道路和天气状况。道路维护不善或恶劣的天气条件很容易造成卡车撞车或公共汽车事故。在道路维护不善的情况下,纽约市、皇后区、布朗克斯区、史坦顿岛或事故发生地的政府可能要承担责任。正如你所期望的,在人身伤害案件中起诉政府可能是复杂的。根据纽约的诉讼时效,你也有较少的时间这样做。

由于缺乏保养、维修不及时或制造缺陷造成的车辆故障根据公路安全研究所的数据,近50%的商用卡车至少有一个重要的机械问题,在任何人驾驶该车之前都应该进行维修。典型的例子包括制动系统、耦合系统、车灯、车轮和动力系统的故障。

商用车事故案例中常见的伤害事故

在拖拉机拖车事故或其他类型的卡车事故中遭受的伤害可能是机动车事故中最严重的类型。创伤性脑损伤只是严重损伤的一个例子,可能会导致长期的并发症。即使你没有明显的身体伤害,你很可能会发现你的思考、推理、集中注意力或控制极端情绪变化的能力在脑外伤后是一个很大的挑战。其他类型的头部外伤可能包括脑部出血、颅骨骨折或神经损伤。

骨折伤

纽约市卡车事故后,涉及脚踝、腿部、脊椎、手臂或脚部的骨折很常见。大卡车与普通大小的汽车相撞的力量会压碎骨头,造成复杂的骨折,愈合时间缓慢。 

颈椎损伤

颈椎病是车祸和卡车事故中最常见的一种颈部损伤。颈椎损伤发生在车祸后,颈部快速、反复地来回扣动。颈椎损伤和脑外伤后都会经常出现记忆力下降、慢性头痛、疲劳、头晕等症状。

背部、膝关节和肩部损伤。

在涉及商用卡车和机动车的碰撞后,背部、膝盖和肩部受伤很常见。深层撕裂伤和烧伤也是如此,需要进行广泛的、往往是痛苦的治疗。最后,也许是最悲惨的结果,除了错误的死亡,是卡车事故,导致截瘫,四肢瘫痪,或其他脊髓损伤,永久影响事故受害者的行动能力和机会,以保持自给自足。 

我如何安排与布朗克斯卡车事故律师的咨询?

在Raphaelson & Levine,我们的结果不言而喻。我们邀请您在我们的网站上查看我们的推荐信和案件和解,然后与我们联系,212-268-3222,要求与律师事务所的卡车事故律师进行免费案件评估。您也可以在我们的网站上填写一份联系表格,我们律师事务所的人将在下一个工作日内回复您的电话。

We look forward to meeting you and learning more about how the truck accident has affected you. Remember that a truck can includes an 18-wheeler, tractor-trailer, bus, garbage truck, or other oversized vehicle operated for commercial purposes.

 


屡获殊荣的律师事务所

Located near Penn Station in New York, NY, our law firm serves Nassau County, Rockland County, Suffolk County, Westchester and all of New York State, including the five boroughs of NYC: Bronx, Brooklyn, Queens, Manhattan, and Staten Island.
查看所有奖项

Bronx Truck Accident Lawyer

Truck accident cases involving a semi-truck, garbage truck, delivery truck, or other large vehicle type cause serious injuries and wrongful death far more often than a car accident involving smaller vehicles. The severity of injuries and the likelihood of death increase due to the size and weight of a commercial truck compared to a smaller motor vehicle. 

When fully loaded, a tractor-trailer can weigh up to 30 times what a passenger vehicle weighs. During a crash, the tons of metal surrounding the truck driver can protect him or her from serious injuries while other drivers in the New York City area take the brunt of the crash. Besides the risk of severe injury or death in truck accident cases, these personal injury claims can be challenging to pursue. 

Don't Delay in Contacting a Truck Accident Lawyer for Help With Your Case

While it might seem obvious to you that the truck driver caused the accident that injured you, this may not be the case. For example, their supervisor might have threatened termination if the driver refused to work while fatigued or to transport an oversized load. The truck's mechanic or manufacturer could have acted negligently as well. 

As a Raphaelson & Levine client, you can feel confident that the injury attorneys at our law office will begin investigating your truck accident case right away. Determining liability is a crucial and time-consuming first step in the personal injury lawsuit process. We dedicate our time and resources to determining how the accident happened and who bears responsibility for it because we want to hold all parties accountable. 

Our truck accident lawyers also take great pride in obtaining maximum compensation on behalf of our clients. We have in-depth knowledge of the numerous laws truckers and trucking companies must follow under the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration guidelines. Please contact the law office of Raphaelson & Levine today to schedule a time for a free review of your truck accident case. You may reach us at 212-268-3222.

Common Types of Truck Accident Cases

An accident between a private motor vehicle and a commercial truck can happen for various reasons, but some causes are more common than others. Our truck accident attorneys have noticed the type of accidents described below occur the most in our years of experience representing truck accident victims.

Accident Caused by a Spilled Load

People who load cargo into a commercial truck must adequately secure the load with tie-downs and not load so much into the vehicle that it exceeds weight limits. Tanker trucks carrying gasoline or other flammable liquid must have proper security measures in place to avoid dangerous spillage. These types of truck accident cases often have multiple victims from toxic exposure or a pile-up on the road due to the truck driver spilling a load. 

Head-on Collision

When a bus or big rig driver loses control of the vehicle, they can easily cross the center line and crash head-on into another vehicle. Head-on collisions are serious accidents that can cause immediate death or serious injuries expected to last for life. If you have lost a loved one to wrongful death or have permanent injuries caused by a large truck, please don't hesitate to contact Raphaelson & Levine at 212-268-3222.

Jackknife Accident

Semi-trucks come equipped with a tractor that hitches to a trailer. The trailer pivots and bends around corners in response to driver turns. Inexperienced truckers often make the mistake of braking too hard and causing the tractor-trailer to skid, known as jackknifing. The out-of-control trailer can strike other vehicles or even come loose from the tractor-trailer altogether and continue traveling until it crashes into another vehicle.

Rear-end Collision

According to the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration, a tractor-trailer driver needs at least 200 yards to stop the truck when traveling 65 miles per hour. This is much more space than the driver of a motor vehicle needs to prevent a rear-end collision. Because of this, truck drivers are much more likely to cause a rear-end collision that leads to serious injuries among the driver or passengers of the vehicle traveling directly in front of him or her.

Rollover Accident

Top-heavy commercial trucks such as garbage, cement, or dump trucks tend to cause rollover accidents most often. A truck driver’s greatest risk causing a rollover accident in a top-heavy commercial truck comes from not reducing speed enough to round corners safely.

Regardless of how your crash with a commercial truck occurred, Raphaelson & Levine are here to help you file a personal injury lawsuit for the compensation you deserve. If you're tired of unpaid medical bills and not working while also dealing with the pain of serious injuries, please contact Raphaelson & Levine at 212-268-3222. We will instruct you on filing a personal injury claim against the responsible parties during your free case evaluation.

Causes of Bronx Truck Accidents

The Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration states that speeding by commercial truck drivers is the leading cause of accidents. Other trucker actions that can cause a crash include:

Distracted Driving

Commercial truckers can drive thousands of miles every week. Like any other driver, they can become bored and start paying more attention to distractions than the road. This could include texting or talking on a handheld smartphone while driving to eating a full meal behind the wheel or just daydreaming. Because a large truck needs more time to stop, a distraction of even a few seconds could cause a serious truck accident injury.

Driving While Fatigued

The Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration enforces Hours of Service to ensure that truck drivers receive adequate rest before driving. Although trucking companies know the Hours of Service rules, managers may push employees to drive a large truck while fatigued or forgo mandatory rest periods. This irresponsible decision can have a tragic outcome and cause the wrongful death or serious injuries of someone else. 

Drunk Driving and Driving Under the Influence

Driving with an unsafe level of drugs in the bloodstream is far more common in the trucking industry than driving after consuming alcohol. Trucking accidents occur the most often when a driver has taken a drug that helps him or her stay awake such as methamphetamines, cocaine, or another stimulant. Despite frequent testing of truck drivers, these violations still occur with alarming regularity. Another person's drug problem shouldn't cause you serious injuries. The New York truck accident lawyers at our law firm will pursue justice for you. Please contact us today at 212-268-3222.

Road and weather conditions: A poorly maintained road or inclement weather conditions could easily cause a truck crash or bus accidents. The government of New York City, Queens, the Bronx, Staten Island, or wherever the accident occurred may be responsible in the case of poorly maintained roads. As you would expect, suing the government in a personal injury case can be complicated. You also have less time under New York's statute of limitations to do so.

Vehicle failure caused by lack of maintenance, timely repair, or manufacturing defect: According to the Institute for Highway Safety, nearly 50 percent of commercial trucks have at least one significant mechanical problem and should undergo repair before anyone drives the vehicle. Typical examples include failure of brake systems, coupling systems, lights, wheels, and power trains.

Common Injuries in Commercial Truck Accident Cases

Injuries sustained in a tractor trailer accident or other types of truck accidents can be among the most severe types of motor vehicle accidents. Traumatic brain injury is just one example of a serious injury that can cause long-term complications. Even if you have no obvious physical injuries, you're likely to find your ability to think, reason, concentrate, or control extreme mood shifts a great challenge after a traumatic brain injury. Other types of head trauma could include bleeding in the brain, a fractured skull, or nerve damage.

Broken Bone Injuries

Broken bones involving the ankles, legs, spine, arms, or feet are common after an NYC truck accident. The force of a big rig crashing with a normal-sized car can crush bones and cause complex fractures with slow healing time. 

Whiplash Injury

Whiplash is the most common type of neck injury in car accidents and truck accidents. A whiplash injury happens when the neck snaps back and forth quickly and repeatedly after a crash. Memory loss, chronic headaches, fatigue, and dizziness can occur regularly after both whiplash and traumatic brain injury.

Back, Knee and Shoulder Injury

Back, knee and shoulder injuries are common after a crash involving a commercial truck and a motor vehicle. The same is true of deep lacerations and burns that require extensive and often painful treatment. Lastly, and perhaps the most tragic outcome besides wrongful death, are truck accidents that cause paraplegia, quadriplegia, or another spinal cord injury that permanently affects the accident victim's mobility and opportunity to remain self-sufficient. 

How Do I Schedule a Consultation with a Bronx Truck Accident Lawyer?

At Raphaelson & Levine, our results speak for themselves. We invite you to review our testimonials and case settlements on our website and then contact us at 212-268-3222 to request a free case evaluation with a law firm’s truck accident lawyer. You may also complete a contact form on our website, and someone from our law office will return your call by the next business day.

We look forward to meeting you and learning more about how the truck accident has affected you. Remember that a truck can includes an 18-wheeler, tractor-trailer, bus, garbage truck, or other oversized vehicle operated for commercial purposes.

 


Award-Winning Law Firm

Located near Penn Station in New York, NY, our law firm serves Nassau County, Rockland County, Suffolk County, Westchester and all of New York State, including the five boroughs of NYC: Bronx, Brooklyn, Queens, Manhattan, and Staten Island.
View all our Awards