车祸赔偿要多少钱?

我的车祸赔偿金值多少钱?

当你在一次车祸中受到重大伤害时,自然会想知道从车祸赔偿中能得到多少钱许多因素有助于确定这个问题的答案,包括你的伤害的严重程度。其他一些因素包括你的工资损失,医疗费用,财产损失,和正在进行的医疗费用,医疗费用以及你是否可以返回工作的美元金额。就其他司机而言,陪审团很可能会考虑他或她是否受到酒精或药物的影响,或者是否以特别鲁莽的方式行事。

获得一个公平的解决方案往往归结于陪审团对你的情况有多少同情。

Raphaelson & Levine律师事务所,我们的工作是证明你的索赔价值。要做到这一点,我们将向陪审团证明,其他司机承担造成事故的责任,它已经大大影响了你的生活。今天打电话给我们的车祸律师,212-268-3222,免费评估你的伤害索赔。

车祸的常见伤害

确定您的车祸结算金额的一个关键因素是证明对方的行动造成了你的严重伤害。因为我们已经代表成千上万的人在你的情况下,我们的律师有广泛的知识,人们收到的伤害类型最常见的严重车祸后的症状往往与这些伤害。

以下是一些最常见的伤害,导致汽车事故。这些伤害会造成疼痛和痛苦,并将影响你的车祸结算。

背部受伤

椎间盘膨出、椎间盘突出、脊髓损伤是车祸造成的最常见的背部损伤。椎间盘膨出的发生是由于车祸的突然冲击导致你下脊柱的椎间盘纤维撕裂而膨胀。当你有椎间盘突出时,意味着你的脊柱结构中分离椎体和骨骼的一块已经移位。椎间盘膨出和突出都会非常疼痛,有时需要手术矫正。

脊髓损伤可能是轻微的,但也可能导致永久性瘫痪。当冲击力使您的脊髓中的部分或全部骨骼或椎骨瘀伤、断裂或破碎时,就会发生这种情况。以下是脊髓损伤的一些最常见的症状。

  • 没有疼痛感
  • 慢性疼痛
  • 在未受伤的身体部位感觉到疼痛。
  • 感染
  • 肌肉失去控制
  • 丧失自愿回流功能
  • 肌肉痉挛
  • 麻木
  • 胳膊、腿或双腿瘫痪
  • 永久性神经系统功能障碍
  • 性功能障碍

人身伤害诉讼方面,车祸颈部受伤的和解金额趋向于高端,因为它是如此严重的伤害。永久瘫痪可能意味着在数百万美元的结算,而较轻的伤害,如慢性背痛可能意味着几千美元。虽然陈述一个平均的车祸和解金额是具有挑战性的,你可以放心在我们的声誉作为一个律师事务所,赚取整个纽约的顶级判决和和解。

头部受伤和脑震荡

脑外伤(TBI)和脑震荡,又称轻度外伤(mTBI),也是车祸后常见的伤害。中度或重度TBI通常会导致意识丧失以及以下症状:

  • 行为和性格的变化,特别是冲动性。
  • 认知障碍,包括注意力、集中力和记忆力问题。
  • 永久瘫痪
  • 语言、感官和/或视力障碍

脑震荡可能比以前认为的要严重得多。虽然轻度脑震荡的症状可能与中度至重度脑震荡的症状相似,但通常强度较低,大多数人在几周或几个月内就能恢复。不幸的是,大约10%的脑震荡患者会发展成脑震荡后综合症,并可能持续数年。与脑震荡后综合症相关的一些最常见的症状包括:?

  • 焦虑症
  • 行为变化
  • 晕眩
  • 情感挑战
  • 疲劳症
  • 失眠症
  • 烦躁
  • 光线和声音敏感度

近年来,随着人们对脑震荡车祸伤害的长期影响有了更多的了解,脑震荡车祸伤害的平均赔偿额度有所提高。即便如此,这也需要有经验的律师代表你打官司,证明你因另一方的行为而遭受的脑部变化应该得到一笔可观的赔偿。

紧张的神经

有些人可能认为神经被夹伤不是什么大事,但这根本不是事实。除了引起尖锐或灼热的疼痛外,被夹住的神经还会导致记忆力下降,神经不再正常服务的部位会有麻木的感觉。神经被夹的情况在车祸受害者中更为常见,他们还遭受了椎间盘突出。原因是椎间盘突出的碎片或骨刺可以阻断神经通路,造成上述症状。车祸造成的神经损伤一般赔偿多少,主要取决于损伤是暂时性的还是永久性的,以及它对你未来行动能力的影响。

颈椎病

虽然越来越少的医学和法律专业人士使用这个术语,但它仍然是描述当头颈部承受如此强大的力量,以至于它们突然猛烈地来回抽搐几次时发生的情况的适当方式。例如,一场车祸会导致颈部的肌肉和肌腱进一步拉伸,而不是他们应该的。以下是一些与颈椎病相关的最常见症状。

  • 晕眩
  • 头痛
  • 颈部、肩部或上背部疼痛和僵硬。
  • 睡眠障碍、疲劳、记忆力减退和/或严重时注意力不集中。

和其他类型的伤害一样,颈椎病的结算金额也会因一系列因素而有很大的不同。然而,这种类型的车祸结算往往是较低的其他类型的伤害相比。

九大因素影响车祸索赔的和解价值

陪审团给出的平均解决方案考虑了你的经济和非经济损失。第一类包括与事故有关的费用,如医疗和财产损失。非经济损害赔偿是更主观的,包括疼痛和痛苦和享受生活的损失等。一些原告还收到第三类称为惩罚性赔偿。这意味着,造成您受伤的人的行为是如此轻率,以至于他或她完全无视您的安全。

确定平均和解并不容易,但我们可以告诉您,陪审团至少会考虑以下问题。

  1. 谁造成的事故?虽然它可能看起来很明显,另一方的行动造成的事故,请记住,纽约是一个纯粹的比较过失状态。这意味着陪审团可以减少你的赔付率的百分比,它分配给你的责任,为事故的贡献。
  2. 你的财产损失金额是多少?这指的是维修或更换您的汽车以及车内个人物品(如汽车座椅或笔记本电脑)的费用。
  3. 你的医疗费用是多少?这包括一切与事故相关的费用,包括乘坐救护车(如果你需要的话)、医生和外科医生费用、处方、适应性设备和物理治疗。
  4. 你的伤害有多严重?如果你收到永久伤害,如截瘫,四肢瘫痪,或广泛的脑损伤,你可能会收到一个大的车祸结算金额。轻伤通常会收到一个较小的金额。然而,在你的情况下,这可能不是真的,特别是如果你遭受慢性疼痛。
  5. 你需要多少医疗服务?一些车祸受害者只需要看几次医生,而其他人则需要持续的护理,为他们的余生。有一个医学专家代表你说话可以影响陪审团如何考虑这个问题。
  6. 对方的保险单有金额限制吗?不幸的是,一些保险公司根本没有资金来支付你应得的费用。你可以放心,Raphaelson & Levine的团队会发现额外的收入来源,而这些来源可能是保险公司不愿意透露的。
  7. 你接受的是什么类型的治疗?保险公司是臭名昭著的,他们决定什么是他们认为在医疗上是必要的,什么不是。如果你赞成并从替代性医疗实践中得到了最大的帮助,例如由脊骨神经科医生提供的帮助,这可能会给你带来问题。
  8. 你的案子有多强?我们不会把案子提交给法院 除非我们坚信能为你赢得官司。只要你的案子能上法庭,就能让我们和陪审团有更大的谈判能力。
  9. 你以前有没有提出过任何索赔?如果你有频繁提起人身伤害诉讼的名声,会影响你获得公平赔偿的机会。即使如此,当我们认为你应该得到赔偿时,我们会积极地追求你的赔偿权利。

这九个因素只是陪审团考虑的一些标准。我们将在您的初次咨询中以及在进一步处理您的诉讼时与您详细讨论。

典型的车祸赔偿金额

正如你现在所知道的,预计从车祸解决的平均金额可以变化很大,取决于一些关键因素。在过去的25年里,我们的车祸律师已经获得了超过5亿美元的判决和和解,个人赔付金额从数千美元到数百万美元不等。

我们公司最近的车祸和解案例包括:。

  • 纳索县一名有伤病史的妇女获得150万美元车祸赔偿。
  • 从缺陷汽车制造商那里获得数百万美元的赔偿
  • 纽约一摄影师在红绿灯处被卡车撞倒,获90万美金后车祸赔偿金
  • 工人驾驶公司车辆时被渣土车撞伤86.5万事故赔偿金。

要查看更多最近的案件结果,请访问我们的车祸判决与和解页面。

车祸后要不要找受伤律师?

与人身伤害律师的工作将帮助你获得更高的赔偿,可能会超过任何汽车保险公司将给你的伤害案件的金额,让你更高的结算。我们的事故伤害律师将协助你在提出关于你的和解案件的每一个方面,你的保险公司或法官。我们可能会产生信息,你会错过,如果你自己处理的调解。

赔偿你的汽车维修,特殊的损害,身体的痛苦,医疗费和费用通常由你支付的金额决定。我们的事故律师将建议和谈判一个适当的解决疼痛和痛苦和精神痛苦。

保险公司总是会提供最低的可以接受的车祸赔偿金额。这就是保险公司如何最大化他们的收入和利润。保险理算师会试图证明你需要并接受不必要的治疗。大多数人会试图保持你能够工作。

如果你在车祸中受伤,人身伤害律师会建议你采取必要的步骤来保护自己。你要记录与事故有关的一切。医生可以很容易地验证错过的工作日和你所接受的医疗,你应该能够收回你可能已经失去的钱。

为了最大限度地提高你的车祸赔偿,你要做的不仅仅是通过保险公司提出车祸索赔。伤害律师将协助说服保险公司,他们需要进一步检查保险索赔。可能会发生长时间的调查,我们的人身伤害律师将与保险公司协商车祸赔偿事宜。30年后,我们经验丰富的律师事务所将为您争取可能的身体伤害、精神损害和一般损害赔偿。

你可能不必提出人身伤害索赔,以获得颈椎或其他汽车伤害的和解赔款。你的保险公司和你的律师可能会达成一个合适的协议。如果这不发生,你可能需要将此事提交法院。

你的车祸赔偿金能值多少钱?

我们的律师每天都代表受伤的个人,并为我们在整个纽约的"伤者之声"的声誉感到自豪。如果你已经参与了车祸,并有关于多少你的车祸索赔可能是值得的问题,我们邀请您与我们联系,212-268-3222或完成免费咨询表与我们公司的律师说话。我们将帮助您了解您的车祸案件的价值,并将告知您的法律权利,选项,估计有多少期望根据我们的经验,以及您的下一步。

Andrew Levine
Andrew J. Levine是纽约Raphaelson & Levine律师事务所的合伙人。他毕业于Hofstra大学Maurice A. Deane法学院。15年来,他一直被广泛信任和尊重,作为一个强大的律师,但公认的合理和道德的合作者,谁留下深刻印象的客户,法官和陪审员一样。安德鲁被纽约杂志评为纽约"顶级人身伤害诉讼律师"之一,并被《超级律师》评为"纽约顶级人身伤害律师"。
查看律师资料

HomeHow Much To Expect From A Car Accident Settlement?

How Much To Expect From A Car Accident Settlement?

How Much Is My Car Accident Settlement Worth?

When you have sustained significant injuries in a car crash, it’s natural to wonder how much to expect from a car accident settlement. Many factors help to determine the answer to this question, including the severity of your injuries. Some other factors include the dollar amount of your property damage, medical expenses, and lost wages as well as whether you can return to work. In terms of the other driver, a jury will likely consider whether he or she was under the influence of alcohol or drugs or acted in an especially reckless manner.

 

 

Obtaining a fair settlement often comes down to how much sympathy the jury has for your situation. It’s our job at the law firm of Raphaelson & Levine to demonstrate the value of your claim. To do so, we will prove to the jury that the other driver bears responsibility for causing the accident and that it has greatly impacted your life.

Common Injuries from Car Accidents

A critical factor in determining the amount of your car accident settlement is proving that the actions of the other party caused your severe injuries. Because we have represented thousands of people in your situation, our attorneys have extensive knowledge about the types of injuries people receive most often after a serious car accident and symptoms often associated with these injuries. Below are some of the most common injuries resulting from a car crash.

Back Injuries

Bulging discs, herniated discs, and spinal cord injuries are the most common types of back injuries caused by car accidents. A bulging disc happens when the sudden impact of the crash causes the disc in your lower spine to swell due to the tearing of its fibers. When you have a herniated disc, it means that a piece of the structure of your spine that separates vertebra and bones has moved out of place. Both bulging and herniated discs can be extremely painful and sometimes require surgery to correct.

A spinal cord injury can be minor, but it can also cause permanent paralysis. This happens when the force of the impact bruises, breaks or shatters some or all of the bones or vertebrae in your spinal cord. The following are some of the most common symptoms of spinal cord injuries:

  • An absence of pain sensations
  • Chronic pain
  • Feeling pain sensations in an uninjured body part
  • Infections
  • Loss of muscle control
  • Loss of voluntary reflux functions
  • Muscle spasms
  • Numbness
  • Paralysis of arms, legs, or both
  • Permanent nervous system dysfunction
  • Sexual dysfunction

In terms of a personal injury lawsuit, a car accident neck injury settlement amount tends toward the higher end because it is such a serious injury. Permanent paralysis could mean a settlement in the millions while lesser injuries such as chronic back pain might mean several thousand dollars. Although stating an average car accident settlement amount is challenging, you can feel confident in our reputation as a law firm that earns top verdicts and settlements throughout New York.

Head Injury and Concussion

Traumatic brain injury (TBI) and concussion, also known as mild traumatic injury (mTBI), are also common injuries after a car accident. A moderate or severe TBI usually causes a loss of consciousness as well as the following symptoms:

  • Behavioral and personality changes, particularly impulsiveness
  • Cognitive deficits, including problems with attention, concentration, and memory
  • Permanent paralysis
  • Speech, sensory, and/or vision impairment

Concussions can be much more serious than previously believed. While the symptoms of a mild TBI can mimic those of a moderate to severe TBI, they are usually less intense and most people recover in a matter of weeks or months. Unfortunately, about 10 percent of people who experience a concussion develop a post-concussion syndrome that can last for years. Some of the most common symptoms associated with post-concussion syndrome include:

  • Anxiety
  • Behavioral changes
  • Dizziness
  • Emotional challenges
  • Fatigue
  • Insomnia
  • Irritability
  • Light and sound sensitivity

The average settlement for concussion car accident injuries has increased in recent years as people have gained a greater understanding of its long-term impact. Even so, it requires an experienced attorney fighting on your behalf to prove that you deserve a substantial settlement for the brain changes you suffer due to the actions of another party.

Pinched Nerves

Some people may not think that a pinched nerve is a big deal, but this simply isn’t true. In addition to causing sharp or burning pain, pinched nerves can lead to memory loss and a feeling of numbness in the area that the nerve no longer serves properly. Pinched nerves are more common among car accident victims who have also suffered a herniated disc. The reason for this is that the fragments or bone spurs from the herniated disc can block nerve pathways and cause the above symptoms. The average nerve damage settlement from car accidents depends largely on whether the damage is temporary or permanent and how it impacts your future mobility.

Whiplash

Although fewer medical and legal professionals use this term, it’s still an appropriate way to describe what happens when the head and neck sustain such strong force that they suddenly and violently jerk back and forth several times. A car accident, for example, can cause the muscles and tendons in the neck to stretch further than they ever should. Here are some of the most common symptoms associated with whiplash:

  • Dizziness
  • Headache
  • Pain and stiffness in the neck, shoulders, or upper back
  • Sleep disturbances, fatigue, memory loss, and/or concentration difficulties in severe cases

Like other types of injuries, whiplash settlement amounts can vary considerably depending on a range of factors. However, this type of car accident settlement tends to be lower compared to other types of injuries.

Nine Factors That Affect the Settlement Value of Your Car Accident Claim

The average settlement handed down by a jury considers both your economic and non-economic damages. The first category includes an accident-related expense you have incurred such as medical care and property damage. Non-economic damages are more subjective and include such things as pain and suffering and loss of enjoyment of life. Some plaintiffs also receive a third category called punitive damages. This means that the person who caused your injuries acted in such a reckless manner that he or she showed complete disregard for your safety.

Determining an average settlement isn’t easy, but we can tell you that juries consider the following questions at a minimum:

  1. Who caused the accident? While it might seem obvious that the other party’s actions caused the accident, keep in mind that New York is a pure comparative negligence state. That means the jury can reduce your payout by the percentage of blame it assigns you for contributing to the accident.
  2. What is the amount of your property damage? This refers to how much it will cost to repair or replace your car as well as personal items inside of it like car seats or a laptop computer.
  3. What are your medical costs? This includes everything associated with the accident, including the ambulance ride if you needed one, doctor and surgeon fees, prescriptions, adaptive equipment, and physical therapy.
  4. How severe are your injuries? You will likely receive a large car accident settlement amount if you received permanent injuries such as paraplegia, quadriplegia, or extensive brain damage. Minor injuries typically receive a smaller amount. However, this may not be true in your case especially if you suffer from chronic pain.
  5. How much medical treatment will you require? Some car accident victims only need to visit the doctor a few times while others require ongoing care for the rest of their lives. Having a medical expert speak on your behalf can influence how the jury considers this question.
  6. Are there dollar limits on the other party’s insurance policy? Unfortunately, some insurers simply don’t have the funds to pay what you deserve. You can feel confident that the team from Raphaelson & Levine will uncover additional sources of revenue that the insurer may not voluntarily disclose.
  7. What type of treatment did you receive? Insurance companies are notorious for deciding what they think is medically necessary and what is not. This can present a problem for you if you favor and have received the most help from alternative medical practices such those provided by a chiropractor.
  8. How strong is your case? We won’t bring a case to court unless we have a strong belief that we can win it for you. Just the fact that your case made it to court at all can give us greater negotiating power with the jury.
  9. Have you made any previous claims? If can affect your chances of a fair settlement if you have a reputation for filing frequent personal injury lawsuits. Even so, we will aggressively pursue your right to compensation when we think you deserve it.

These nine factors represent just some of the criteria that juries consider. We will discuss this in greater detail with you at your initial consultation and as we get further along in processing your lawsuit.

Typical Car Accident Settlement Amounts

As you now know, the average amount to expect from a car accident settlement can vary greatly depending on a number of critical factors. Over the past twenty-five years, our car accident attorneys have secured over $500 Million in verdicts and settlements with individual payouts ranging from thousands of dollars to millions of dollars.

Examples of our firm’s recent car accident settlements include:

To view more recent case results, visit our Car Accident Verdicts & Settlements page.

Get A Free Claim Review

Our attorneys represent injured individuals every day and are proud of our reputation as the “voice of the injured” throughout New York. If you’ve been involved in a crash and have questions about how much your car accident claim may be worth, we invite you to contact us at 212-268-3222 or complete the free consultation form to speak with an attorney at our firm. We will help you understand the value of your claim, and will inform you of your legal rights, options, an estimate on how much to expect based on our experience, and your next steps.

Share
Tweet
Pin
+1
Share