不是你的错,发生车祸后该怎么办?

想象一下,有一天早上,你开车去上班,在离你的大楼一个街区的红灯前停下,突然,你的下巴猛地往胸口一放,你的身体意外地往前一冲,听到了钢铁和玻璃碎裂的声音。当你甩掉最初的冲击时,你的耳朵响了起来,你偷看了一下后视镜,正好看到曾经是你的刹车灯的碎片落在人行道上。

你刚刚卷入了一场不是你的过错的车祸,每年都有成千上万的纽约人面临这种意外情况。如果你像大多数人一样,你可能想知道下一步该怎么做。

如果你已经受伤了,知道在不是你的错的车祸后该怎么做,可以对你的身体健康和财务状况产生巨大的影响。了解以下车祸后的指导原则,将帮助您获得最佳的结果,并避免与保险公司的紧张战斗。以下是在非您的过错的车祸后该怎么做。

保持冷静,留在现场,到安全的地方。

在发生不是你的错的车祸后,第一步要做的就是保持冷静,留在事故现场。这可能是很难想清楚后,有人打你的车的冲击,但保持冷静是一个宝贵的财富。最重要的规则,遵循所有的汽车事故在纽约是,你永远不应该离开现场,直到你已经被告知它是确定这样做。

在评估您的车辆损坏或试图将您的车辆从交通中移开之前,请检查确保您的乘客和参与事故的任何人都没事。如果有人失去知觉或抱怨颈部或背部疼痛,请立即要求医疗护理,并建议他们保持任何动作,除非他们处于迫在眉睫的危险之中。

如果看起来没有严重的伤害,打开你的危险灯,并尝试将你的车开到最远的路肩,远离迎面而来的车辆。

向警方报告事故

在不是您的过错的车祸发生后,下一步要做的就是用智能手机拨打9-1-1,如果您没有受伤,也可以让其他驾车者帮您拨打。让调度员知道您的车辆或周围车辆中是否有人需要立即就医。如果需要,调度中心的接线员会派出救护车。他或她还会派遣一名警官到现场收集有关车祸的信息。

警方的报告可以成为帮助确定责任的关键证据,或者在与保险公司谈判或提出人身伤害索赔时使用。

出警的警察会询问你的姓名、联系方式和保险信息。这只是一个标准程序,并不意味着你对事故有过错。

虽然你也应该从对方那里收集这些信息,但剩下的事情还是让警察来处理吧。我们建议尽量减少与他或她的互动,千万不要在现场指责或接受指责。

尽可能多的记录

车祸后该怎么办这个重要问题的另一个答案是,在你还在现场的时候,尽可能多地记录下来。

例如,使用智能手机上的相机应用程序拍摄车辆或车内个人财产(如笔记本电脑)的损坏情况。有任何损害的照片证明可以帮助你的保险理赔员确定赔偿,如果需要的话,还可以在法庭上协助你的案件。如果有人目睹了事故的发生,并且愿意,一定要拍下这个人的照片。

如果你的伤势重,在你忘记重要细节之前,写下事故发生的过程。在上面的例子中,你只需说明你的车停在红灯前,另一辆车从后面撞了你。把每辆车在路上的位置也描述出来。

如果你参与了一场不是你的错的事故,可能很想迅速离开现场--我们强烈建议你不要这样做。你可能知道对方是百分之百的责任,但在警察到达之前或在你记录证据之前离开,使它看起来像你有一些隐藏。一定要在现场等待,直到警察获得他们需要的所有信息。警官会批准你开车回家,或者叫拖车,安排搭车。

从证人处收集信息

你和车祸中的另一方在描述事件时有明显的利害关系,使对方看起来像一个过错。由于法官和陪审团在人身伤害案件中知道这一点,他们很可能会对你的证词给予较少的权重,而不是对结果没有个人利益的旁观者的证词。如果你知道有人看到了发生的事情,请问他或她的姓名和联系信息,以便提供给你的保险公司和警方。一定要写下来,这样当你需要传递信息时就不会忘记重要的细节。

由医疗专业人士进行检查(即使您没有立即出现车祸症状或疼痛)。

虽然车祸后颈部疼痛是很常见的,但很多人拒绝看医生,因为他们没有注意到任何明显的伤害,或者认为他们不认为自己的症状很严重。这是一个严重的错误,因为虽然许多车祸症状可能不会显示出来,直到几天、 几周或甚至几个月后的崩溃,他们可能会有一样严重的长期影响作为骨折或脱臼的关节。颈椎病和脑震荡是最好的例子。其他车祸症状可能不会出现,直到很晚才会出现,包括。

仅仅因为其中一些伤害不会立即出现,并不意味着你不会有终身的问题,从他们。通过访问医疗专业人员在事故发生后不久,你可以确定这样的事情,如软组织损伤,以及有一个书面记录你的访问。这是重要的,以建立信誉,如果律师的过错方声称你的伤害不可能有那么严重,如果你甚至没有访问他们的医生。

记录任何医生、物理治疗师、脊椎按摩师、护理人员或任何其他医疗专业人员接受治疗的日记,以及逐项列出任何相关费用,将有助于你的保险公司、你的律师和法院了解你受伤的全部程度和任何相关费用。

纽约是汽车事故的无过错州

重要的是要明白,纽约是几个州之一,有无过错法律的书籍上的车祸。然而,这并不意味着你不能恢复赔偿,如果另一个人造成你的伤害。这仅仅意味着,国家法律要求你向自己的保险公司提出索赔,以获得损害赔偿.这可以为你提供有限的资金,特别是当你的伤害是显著的。在这种情况下,你会希望继续对其他司机进行人身伤害诉讼。请记住,你有三年的时间从事故发生之日起,根据纽约的诉讼时效这样做。

考虑聘请律师

一场严重的车祸可能会给你留下数千美元的车辆损失,不断增加的医疗费用,工资损失,甚至是永久性的身体和精神损害。如果你是车祸的受害者,即使是轻微的车祸,你有合法的权利来恢复财产损失,疼痛和痛苦,精神痛苦和更多的纽约法律下的赔偿,你不应该担心支付口袋里的事故造成的费用。

保险公司可能会尝试在事故发生后的短短几天内为你提供一个解决方案。最关键的步骤之一,你可以采取的车祸后,不是你的错,是使用谨慎,然后再接受任何早期的和解提议,并咨询律师签署任何文件有关您的解决方案。

通常很难知道你受伤的全部程度,以及他们的长期影响,直到事故发生后的许多天,几周,甚至几个月。不要解决索赔,直到你有信心,你正在为你的所有伤害公平补偿。

如果你参与的事故,是不是你的过错,并经历了任何车祸症状,上面提到的联系一个有经验的纽约车祸律师可以帮助你了解你的法律选项,并决定采取什么行动的过程。

Raphaelson & Levine已经帮助没有过错的事故受害者恢复了超过5亿美元的赔偿。如果你有关于车祸后该怎么做的问题,这不是你的错,或有关于你的法律权利和选择恢复赔偿的问题,请致电212-268-3222或在线联系我们,让我们公司的事故律师免费审查你的案件。

Howard Raphaelson
Howard A. Raphaelson在1992年从Benjamin N. Cardozo法学院毕业后,创立了Raphaelson & Levine Law Firm, P.C.。他的人身伤害律师事务所成立于纽约州的纽约市,他的律师事务所已经获得了许多百万美元的判决。凭借超过25年的人身伤害律师经验,他赢得了同行、法官和高层领导的信赖,包括被评为"超级律师"(汤森路透)和"纽约最佳律师"(纽约杂志)的前5%伤害律师。
查看律师资料

HomeWhat To Do After A Car Accident That’s Not Your Fault?

What To Do After A Car Accident That’s Not Your Fault?

Imagine you’re driving to work one morning and pull to a stop at the red light a block from your building when suddenly, your chin snaps down to your chest as your body unexpectedly jolts forward to the sounds of crunching steel and cracking glass. Your ears ring as you shake off the initial shock of the impact and you steal a glance in your rear-view mirror just in time to see debris from what used to be your brake lights making their descent onto the pavement.

You’ve just been involved in a car crash that wasn’t your fault, an unexpected situation thousands of New Yorkers are faced with each year. If you’re like most people, you may be wondering what to do next.

If you’ve been injured, knowing what to do after a car accident that’s not your fault can make a huge impact on your physical health and financial well-being. Understanding the following guidelines after an auto accident will help you achieve the best possible outcome, and avoid a stressful battle with the insurance company. Here’s what to do after a car accident that’s not your fault:

Remain Calm, Stay At The Scene & Get To A Safe Place

The first step to do after a car accident that’s not your fault is to remain calm and stay at the scene of the accident. It can be difficult to think clearly after the shock of someone striking your car, but remaining calm is an invaluable asset. The most important rule following all auto accidents in New York is that you should never leave the scene until you’ve been advised it is ok to do so.

Before assessing your vehicle damage or attempting to move your vehicle away from traffic, check to make sure that your passengers and anyone involved in the accident is ok. If anyone is unconscious or complains about neck or back pain, request medical attention immediately and advise them to keep any movements to a minimum unless they are in imminent danger.

If there appear to be no serious injuries, turn on your hazard lights and try to get your car to the furthest shoulder of the road, away from oncoming traffic.

Report The Accident To The Police

The next thing to do after a crash that wasn’t your fault is to call 9-1-1 from your smartphone or, if you are uninjured, flag down another motorist to do it for you. Let the dispatcher know if anyone in your vehicle or surrounding vehicles needs immediate medical attention. If so, the dispatch center operator will send an ambulance. He or she will also dispatch a police officer to the scene to gather information about the crash.

The police report can be a critical piece of evidence to help determine liability or to use when negotiating with the insurance company or filing a personal injury claim.

The responding police officer will ask for your name, contact information, and insurance information. This is only a standard procedure and doesn’t mean that you’re at fault for the accident.

Although you should also gather this information from the other party, let the police take care of the rest. We recommend keeping your interactions with him or her to a minimum and never assign or accept blame at the scene.

Document As Much As Possible

Another answer to the important question of what to do after a car accident is to document as much as you possibly can while you’re still at the scene.

For example, use the camera app on your smartphone to take pictures of the damage to your vehicle or the personal property inside of it such as a laptop computer. Having photographic proof of any damages can help your insurance adjuster determine compensation, and may also assist your case in court if needed. If anyone witnessed the accident and is willing, be sure to take a photo of that person as well.

If you’re not too badly injured, write down how the accident happened before you forget important details. In the example above, you would simply indicate that you had your car stopped at a red light and another car struck you from behind. Describe where each car was on the roadway as well.

It can be tempting to leave the scene quickly if you are involved in an accident that’s not your fault – we highly advise against this. You may know that the other party is 100 percent to blame but leaving before the police arrive or before you have documented the evidence makes it look like you have something to hide. Be sure to wait at the scene until the police obtain all the information they need. An officer will give you the okay to either drive home or call a tow truck and arrange for a ride.

Gather Information From Witnesses

You and the other party in the car accident have an obvious stake in describing events to make the other look like the one at fault. Since judges and juries on personal injury cases know this, they will likely give less weight to your testimony than that of an onlooker with no personal stake in the outcome. If you know that someone saw what happened, ask for his or her name and contact information to provide to your insurance company and police. Be sure to write it down so you don’t forget important details when you need to pass the information along.

Get Checked By A Medical Professional (Even if You Don’t Have Immediate Car Accident Symptoms or Pain)

While it’s common to have neck pain after a car accident, many people refuse to see a doctor because they don’t notice any visible injuries or think don’t think their symptoms are severe. This is a serious mistake because while many car accident symptoms may not show up until days, weeks, or even months after the crash, they may have just as serious long-term effects as broken bones or a dislocated joint.  Whiplash and concussions are prime examples of this. Other car accident symptoms that may not show up until much later include:

  • Headaches
  • Numbness
  • Abdominal swelling and pain
  • Loss of physical function
  • Personality changes
  • Post-traumatic stress syndrome

Just because some of these injuries don’t appear right away doesn’t mean that you won’t have lifelong problems from them. By visiting a medical professional shortly after the accident, you can determine such things as soft tissue injuries as well as have a written record of your visit. This is important to establish credibility if the lawyer for the at-fault party claims your injuries couldn’t have been that serious if you didn’t even visit a doctor for them.

Keeping a diary of any doctors, physical therapists, chiropractors, caregivers or any other medical professional you receive treatment from, as well as itemizing any related expenses, will help your insurer, your attorney, and the court understands the full extent of your injuries and any related costs.

New York is a No-Fault State for Auto Accidents

It’s important to understand that New York is one of several states that have no-fault laws on the books for car accidents. However, this doesn’t mean that you can’t recover compensation if another person caused your injuries. It simply means that state law requires you to file a claim with your own insurance company for damages.

This can provide you with limited funds, especially when your injuries are significant. You would want to proceed with a personal injury lawsuit against the other driver in this case. Keep in mind that you have three years from the date of the accident to do so under New York’s statute of limitations.

Consider Hiring An Attorney

A serious car accident can leave you with thousands of dollars in vehicle damages, mounting medical bills, lost wages, and even permanent physical and emotional damages. If you were a victim in a car crash, even a minor one, you have legal rights to recover compensation for property damage, pain and suffering, emotional distress and more under New York law, and you should not have to worry about paying out of pocket for expenses caused by the accident.

An insurance company may try to offer you a settlement within a few shorts days after the accident. One of the most critical steps you can take after a car accident that’s not your fault is to use caution before accepting any early settlement offers, and consult an attorney before signing any documents pertaining to your settlement.

It’s often difficult to know the full extent of your injuries, and their long-term effects, until many days, weeks, or even months after an accident. Don’t settle a claim until you are confident you are being fairly compensated for all of your injuries.

If you were involved in an accident that wasn’t your fault and have experienced any of the car accident symptoms mentioned above contacting an experienced New York car accident attorney can help you understand your legal options and decide what course of action to take.

Raphaelson & Levine has helped not at fault accident victims recover more than $500 Million dollars. If you have questions about what to do after a car accident that’s not your fault, or have questions about you legal rights and options to recover compensation call 212-268-3222 or contact us online to have an accident attorney at our firm review your case at no charge.

Share
Tweet
Pin
+1
Share