纽约性虐待律师

性虐待是一种可怕的罪行。受害的成人和儿童往往在事件发生多年后发现这一事件一直困扰着他们。受害者往往被迫不仅要经历性犯罪后的最初创伤,而且还要承受虐待后出现的额外的持续创伤。

"受害者在受害后往往感到羞耻或被胁迫保持沉默。这是不对的。受害者应该永远有发言权,永远不应该觉得自己有错。历史上,受害者一直被羞辱着保持沉默,但现在不会了。"— Howard Raphaelson在Raphaelson & Levine的人身伤害律师的帮助下。

近年来,我们看到,在法庭上与施虐者对质,可以防止他们伤害他人。这也是对其他施虐者的警告,他们也会被起诉。

什么是性虐待?

不幸的是,性虐待是,是一种常见的现象。总的来说,纽约市在2018年的犯罪率有所降低,然而,令人遗憾的是,强奸等性犯罪明显增加。2019年年中,与一年前相比,该市的强奸案已经上升了19%在纽约州,大多数性犯罪都是重罪。虽然性挑逗可能是暴力的,但并不总是如此。犯罪者经常把他们的性虐待行为说成是"爱"的方式。性虐待是什么,但不是爱,可以以各种方式发生。

  • 不受欢迎的性挑逗,包括触摸、亲吻或抚摸;
  • 强奸和约会强奸
  • 性骚扰或性剥削
  • 窥阴癖
  • 在受害者不知情或未经其同意的情况下对其拍照或录像;
  • 閃爍
  • 让受害者接触到不受欢迎的色情制品

对于针对儿童的犯罪,这些都包括在内,由于是未成年人,所以从来没有考虑过同意的问题,因为根据纽约州的法律,儿童不能同意上述任何一种或其他形式的性行为和行为。

您也可以访问我们的常见问题页面,了解更多关于性虐待的信息。

谁实施了性虐待?

任何人都有可能成为施虐者,而且大多数施虐者的目标是他们认识的人。据统计,每10起性侵犯事件中,约有6起发生在受害者的家中或朋友的家中。在儿童受害的情况下,90%的儿童都认识施虐者。可悲的是,许多性侵事件发生在学校、工作场所、医院、养老院、教堂、日托中心和其他有组织的群体活动中。施虐者可以是医生、童子军领袖、神职人员、教师、教练、雇主、同事,或者是对受害者有其他权力的人,包括各种类型的照顾者。

与纽约性虐待律师讨论您的法律选择。

儿童时期性犯罪的成年幸存者现在有了发言权。2019年,纽约州通过了《儿童受害者法》,将儿童时期的虐待受害者的年龄从23岁提高到55岁,有资格向法院提起民事诉讼。此外,那些年轻时没有在法庭上面对受害者的受害者现在有了一个机会窗口。

"在Raphaelson & Levine,我们努力帮助受害者发出声音,并得到他们应得的正义和结局。如果你或你所爱的人是性犯罪的受害者,无论是最近还是小时候,你都可以让你的施虐者为他们的行为负责"。— Andrew Levine在Raphaelson & Levine的人身伤害律师的帮助下。

您可以获得的赔偿包括医疗和工资损失,疼痛和痛苦,治疗费用,精神痛苦(包括创伤后应激障碍),等等。如果你想了解更多关于性虐待伤害和你的权利,我们富有同情心的律师在这里帮助你。请拨打我们的电话212-268-3222或填写联系表格,安排免费咨询。

屡获殊荣的律师事务所

Located near Penn Station in New York, NY, our law firm serves Nassau County, Rockland County, Suffolk County, Westchester and all of New York State, including the five boroughs of NYC: Bronx, Brooklyn, Queens, Manhattan, and Staten Island.
查看所有奖项
申请免费律师咨询
被医疗费、工资损失、疼痛和痛苦所压倒?不要与保险公司达成和解,因为这比你应得的更少,我们可以帮助你。
除非我们赢了,否则不收任何费用
7亿美元的判决和和解金
60分钟内得到回复

NY Sexual Abuse Lawyers

Sexual abuse is a horrifying crime. Adults and children who have been victims often find the event haunts them years after its occurrence. All too often victims are forced to not only experience the initial trauma after a sex crime, but they are subjected to the additional ongoing trauma that occurs in the aftermath of abuse.

“Victims often feel ashamed or are coerced into keeping quiet after they’ve been victimized. This is wrong. Victims should always have a voice and should never feel they are at fault. Historically, victims have been shamed into keeping quiet, but no more.” — Howard Raphaelson, Personal Injury Lawyer at Raphaelson & Levine

In recent years, we’ve seen confronting an abuser in court prevents them from hurting others. It also serves as a warning to other abusers that they too will be confronted.

What is Sexual Abuse?

Sexual abuse is, unfortunately, is a common occurrence. Overall, New York City saw lowered crime in 2018 yet, sadly, sex crimes, such as rape, significantly increased. In 2019, mid-year, rape is already up 19% in the city when compared with one year ago. Most sex crimes in NYS are felonies. While sexual advances can be violent, they aren’t always. Offenders often frame their sexual abuse in a way where they say it is “loving”. Sexual abuse is anything but loving and can occur in a variety of ways.

  • Unwanted sexual advances including touching, kissing, or fondling
  • Rape and date rape
  • Sexual harassment or exploitation
  • Voyeurism
  • Taking photos or video of a victim without their knowledge or consent
  • Flashing
  • Exposing a victim to unwanted pornography

For crimes committed against children, all of these are included and, because they are minors, consent isn’t ever considered because children cannot consent to any of the above-listed or other forms of sexual behaviors and acts under New York State law.

You can also visit our frequently asked questions page for more information on sexual abuse.

Who Commits Sexual Abuse?

Any person can be an abuser and most of them target people they know. According to statistics, about 6 out of 10 sexual assaults take place in the victim’s home or that of a friend. In instances of children being victimized, 90% know their abusers. Sadly, many sexual abuse events take place in schools, workplaces, hospitals, nursing homes, churches, daycare centers, and other organized group events. Abusers can be doctors, scout leaders, clergy members, teachers, coaches, employers, colleagues, or people who are in other positions of power over the victim, including various types of caretakers.

Discuss Your Legal Options With a New York Sexual Abuse Attorney

Adult survivors of sexual crimes as children now have a voice. In 2019, New York State passed the Child Victims Act which raised the age of childhood victims of abuse from 23 to 55 years old to be eligible to file civil court cases. Additionally, victims who didn’t confront their victims in court when they were younger now have a window of opportunity to do so.

"At Raphaelson & Levine, we strive to help victims have a voice and get the justice and closure they deserve. If you, or a loved one, have been a victim of a sex crime, either recently or when you were a child, you can hold your abuser accountable for their actions." — Andrew Levine, Personal Injury Lawyer at Raphaelson & Levine

Damages you can receive include medical and wage losses, pain and suffering, therapy expenses, emotional distress (including PTSD), and more. If you want to learn more about sexual abuse injury and your rights, our compassionate attorneys are here to help you. Call us at 212-268-3222 or complete the contact form to schedule a free consultation.

Award-Winning Law Firm

Located near Penn Station, our law firm serves Nassau County, Rockland County, Suffolk County, Westchester and all other cities and counties in New York, including the five boroughs of New York City: Bronx, Brooklyn, Queens, Manhattan, and Staten Island.
View all our Awards
Request a Free Lawyer Consultation
Overwhelmed with medical expenses, lost wages, pain, & suffering? Don't settle with an insurance company for less than you deserve, we can help.
No fee unless
 we win
$700M in verdicts & settlements
Get a reply in 60 minutes